We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Honestly, I wasn´t expecting much….its a Holiday Inn. There wasn´t much to choose from in this city, so we went with familiarity. Well, it paid off. The hotel is probably due for a renovation, but considering that, it was really quite nice. It didn´t even have that old hotel smell that you´d expect when its ready for an update. It was clean, actually had nice sheets and a comfy bed. The only issue we had was with billing, but it was solved quick and very professionally.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnnnaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Shawnnnalee,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are grateful that you enjoyed our new bedding. I will proudly share your review with my team. See you again shortly.

Regards,
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    121
    75
    33
    13
See reviews for
86
85
31
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn at Tanglewood in Roanoke, Virginia from Friday, 6/6/14 to
Wednesday, 6/11/14. I found those at the front desk, particularly Kayla, to be most professional
and very friendly. The accommodations were very comfortable with a microwave and a mini
refrigerator in the room.
I found the hotel's restaurant, The Elephant Walk, to have an extensive menu for breakfast,
lunch, and dinner at very reasonable prices. Matthew, Steve, and Robert, restaurant employees,
provided excellent and very personable service. The food is delicious and the portions are
very ample.
I highly recommend the Holiday Inn at Tanglewood on your next visit to Roanoke, Virginia.

Sincerely.....Ron Pagano

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Ron Pagano,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We are also happy to hear that loved food of our award winning restaurant.

Along with Kayla, and Robert we all will look forward to host your stay again at HITW.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I am perplexed as to why this place rates so highly and as a loyal member of IHG I honestly find this property to not be up to standard. We regularly stay in Holiday Inns, but this one was terrible. Firstly the staff at check in were relatively rude and disinterested. We thought it was because we were using one of our rewards nights, so were not initially phased by their attitude. When we checked into our room and attempted to use the shower the drain appeared to be blocked. On further investigation we found it clogged with hair and we were unable to unblock it. We went down to reception who were unapologetic and just handed us keys for a new room. The two rooms were not very clean with stained furniture and carpets. The beds were comfortable, but the linens were very old and pilled. They do have a fitness centre there but the equipment was old and some of it does not function properly. We found the place to lack general cleanliness and were just unimpressed by the overall lack of quality for a Holiday Inn. There is free parking and it is in a good location for travel to the Blue Ridge Parkway, they are the only two positives I drew from my stay there. In all honesty I would give this one a miss and I hope management is able to address the lack lustre service we received, as Holiday Inns have much higher standards than this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outdoor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear outdoor21,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for being an IHG Rewards Club member. I appreciate your good comments regarding our complimentary parking and location. However, it is truly regrettable that your recent overall experience was less than satisfactory. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information and follow up on you.

I hope to hear back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is a great Holiday Inn, one of the best I have ever stayed. What really impressed me was when I scanned the room before I left I missed some cash and valuables. I got a call within 45 minutes after checking out that LEO and SIS had turned my valuables into the front desk and they were waiting for me to pick up. I probably would not have noticed for quite some time and really appreciated their honesty and prompt service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Wesley,

Holiday Inn Tanglewood team takes proud in what they do and we do have policy to hold everything small items we find in rooms for 3months.

We are glad that we were able to call you before you went too far. I have happily shared your review with entire team.

Look forward to see you during your next trip in Roanoke VA.

Thank you
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Clean, Kind, helpful staff but the best staff member was STEVE on the breakfast, restaurant staff. If all hospitality, restaurant employees were as efficient, professional, attentive as him you would have repeat customers. I have travelled the world and he ranks as " the best of the best" by saying " yes, we can do that " due to my dietary needs when they only had a buffet. Steve will take care of you because he truly cares that you have a great stay........ And breakfast and dinner!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Dolly P,

Here at Holiday Inn Tanglewood we understand how hard it is to be away from home especially with food restrictions.

We are glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your special order needs in timely manner. Steve along with all of us greatly appreciate your time for leaving us a review.

Thank You
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Robert has been part of the maintenance staff for quite some time. If I have ever had a problem , he has always been there pronto. He is very courteous and takes great pride in his work and keeping this hotel well maintained. Front desk staff are always top notch as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, General Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Charlie C,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and loyalty towards our hotel.

We look forward to serve you for many more years.

Regards,
Rohan Patel
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Kim was very helpful and courteous at check-in. The hotel was very quite and relaxing, The staff was very professional. Everyone was very helpful. All of my requests were addressed promptly and i would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Megan W,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am very pleased to hear that you found our staff highly commendable. It is always hugely motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again here in Tanglewood.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Address: 4468 Starkey Rd, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing