We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“always enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Culpeper, Virginia
1 review
“always enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Always have a good time when staying at this hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Stay here for Mysticon each year, but was unfortunately sold out this year. Will reserve earlier for next year. Clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    114
    69
    30
    13
See reviews for
79
80
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodview, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stay at this hotel once a year for a convention. Every year the service is unparallelled. The hotel fills to capacity for this event but the staff never loses their smiles and their gracious hospitality always shines through. Tammy Lee, Rohan, Dalia, Samantha, Robert and Ami are superstars and I hope the Holiday Inn never loses them!

Room Tip: I haven't found a bad room yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had the joy of spending 3 days at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood during Mysticon 2014. We weren't able to book our room in this hotel, but we were there from 9 AM until approximately 2 AM each night. The front registration was very friendly and welcoming, even though we weren't overnight "guests". Because of the chance you could lose your parking space, we ate in the lobby restaurant and I want to say, our entire group (Reeking Havok) was VERY impressed with the service and the food. The wait staff was friendly, even remembering what we had ordered previously and welcoming us back each time... . The food was delicious (OMG, not processed.. REAL food, served with a smile!) and VERY affordable. Preparation time was quick, so we could get back to our vendor booth, and very attentive with refills. Thank you for making that part of the trip very enjoyable. Next year we will book our overnight before it reaches capacity!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeking_Havok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We just spent a weekend at the Holiday Inn Roanoke, Tanglewood for the fourth year in a row and the staff now feels like family. Walking into a hotel you have not been in for a year and having staff remember your name and comment on your profession is very welcoming.

Glenford and Matthew made each meal and trip to the bar a special event. Dalia was incredibly helpful and patient behind the front desk and Rohan made us feel like family. I cannot recommend anyplace else I have stayed as highly as I can this particular locale.

Anyplace can offer a bed and a room key, the staff at this hotel makes all the difference. You will not leave disappointed! :D

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkDavisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend the Holiday Inn at Tanglewood enough! I'm here for Mysticon and it has been amazing. The hotel has solved so many issues and has been nothing but helpful and polite. Rohan and his staff are consummate professionals. Definitely come here for a great stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed there for a night this weekend while I was there for a bridal show. I have very little negative to say about this hotel. The staff at the front desk as well as those helping us set up for our show were all very helpful and friendly. When we got to our room, everything was clean and tidy. I was sharing a suite with my business associates and there was plenty of space for the 4 of with room to spare. I ended up sharing the pull out couch with my boyfriend, and he found it to be very uncomfortable, but I slept alright on it. We also ate at the hotel restaurant one night and all 6 of us that ate there enjoyed our meal. The service that we received was polite and quick and we all left very satisfied. All in all, the spaces that we used were very well kept and we had a very good experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Good Bye Sheraton. I stayed at this Holiday Inn because my regular hotel in Roanoke (Sheraton) screwed up on my reservation. Boy what a great surprise. I went in to this hotel and asked front desk to speak to a manager before making reservation as we are entitled to limited budget. Manager who is authorized to override the rate was gone for the day as it was around 9:00PM but front desk quickly called him on his cell phone and help me get negotiated rate.Next thing I know that as soon as I got to my Room I got a call from same manager (Mr. Rojan) welcoming me and making sure if I was comfortable with my room and gave his cell number to contact him anytime. I never heard any hotel giving out direct access to management this way.
I was completely satisfied with my room and will rate this property 5 out of 5.
Kudos Mr. Rojan to you and your team and as promised I will make sure during our next project in Roanoke VA you will be our choice of hotel. Clean room, nice staff what else we travelers need.

Room Tip: I was happy with my room on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businessjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Address: 4468 Starkey Rd, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing