We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here twice in June and both times it was good. The room was nice and the check in was friendly and efficient. The lounge and restaurant were not bad but perhaps a bit below typical Holiday Inn. It seemed a bit understaffed. Overall a good experience however.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing! I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's nice to see that the staff impressed you, we pride ourselves on providing excellent service for each and every guest that stays with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks again
Travel Safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 450 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was comfortable, and the only two things I was disappointed about was the lack of help in cancelling an on-line prepaid room I didn't need (Other hotels worked with me when our daughter had to cancel) and that the ice maker didn't work on the fifth floor. Other than that, the room was comfortable and reasonably dark at night. The parking is pretty inadequate, at least on weekends. I would stay there again, though, because at $54 per night it was great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. It's nice to hear that you were comfortable while you were here, we strive to create an atmosphere that provides clean and pleasant experience for each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks again!
Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is clean, but showing signs of age. Most ice machines did not work on our side of the hotel. The one that did work made an annoyingly loud noise that had to disturb guests in rooms near the machine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swede132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review our property. We value all guest feedback and are excited each time we hear from our guests. I'm sorry about the problem you had with the ice machine, and that is being looked into. I'm glad to see that the hotel was cleaned to your standards as this is an area that we have spent countless hours training in the past years, it's nice to see that paying off. I hope that you get to stay with us again soon, and would love to speak to you further.

Thank you again,
Travel Safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Tanglewood in Roanoke VA is at a great location. 5 minutes from lots of restaurants and a mall. The room we had was very clean and almost everything including the refrigerator was in working order. The interior halls were clean as was the lobby area. The pool was clear and refreshing.
The only disappointments were a HD TV that pixelated often and the lack of an included breakfast. To be fair they do offer a "Priority Member" cold breakfast on mon-fri. it was adequate. The $10 hot breakfast seemed a bit over priced so we passed on it.
The desk staffers were very courteous.
All in all - a good place at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: ask for a hot breakfast voucher at check in - they seem to be happy to hand out a limited number as...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we did! I'm glad that the IHG Loyalty Club Breakfast was adequate for you, and we also offer an all-you-can-eat buffet 7 days a week in the Elephant Walk Restaurant. It's also nice to hear that our staff delivered on our promise of offering excellent service to every guest.

Thank you again,
Travel Safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was a guest at this hotel for just one night. But, I was very satisfied with this great hotel. It is convenient to the Interstate,airport, restaurants,business areas. I was really impressed with the views from this hotel. Quite stunning! The rooms were quite comfortable and clean. The staff was pleasant and friendly. Strong recommend for this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Thank you so much for you kind words! We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer the greatest views of the Blue Ridge Mountains anywhere in the valley, and our property just finished a beautiful renovation! I'm happy that you were impressed with our staff as well, we take pride in providing excellent service to each guest and its nice to see that we did so for you! Please stop by and see us again the next time you're in town!

Travel Safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a wedding. From the moment i booked my room the staff were rude. I was often put on hold for long periods of time. At first i assumed they were really busy, but I'm not so sure now. The stairwells very dirty and had some kind of dried, dark liquid on the walls. I would highly recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 899CarrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our service and I'm saddened to hear that we didn't deliver on that in this case. Our hotel just finished a beautiful renovation which may explain some of the other issues. I would love to discuss this at greater length with you, please feel free to call me at any time.

Thank you and Travel Safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting for a work conference and didn't quite feel like it was up to standards. Rooms were nice and clean, no complaints about beds or bathroom. Over all feel of hotel is that it could use some maintenance for common areas such as leaky ceilings , holes in the walls, and peeling wallpaper . The front desk people could use some customer service training , they didn't seem completely sure of what they were doing .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wdude99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Wdude99,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We are delighted to read you found the rooms nice and clean. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#6 of 40 in Roanoke
748 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
548 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: $98 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing