We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a nice stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Had a nice stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

My two friends and I stayed here for one night while exploring the Blue Ridge Parkway. Our room was nice and clean and our beds were comfy. The people at the front desk were very helpful and accommodating, and the lady who brought us some blankets for the sofa bed was very friendly! It was quiet and we had a great night of sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    123
    78
    33
    15
See reviews for
89
88
31
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I spent 2 nights at this hotel on a business trip and was very pleased. The room was clean and spacious. My room had 2 queen beds which were comfortable. The mattresses were slightly on the firm side. I had a 32-40 " Flat panel TV. The Satelite TV only had the basic network channels, news channels, ESPN and HBO(very pixelated and unwatchable). Wireless intenet access was OK, but not very fast. The room had a Microwave, small fridge and small coffee maker which were clean and in working order. There was no free breakfast. I believe the desk agent stated that breakfast was available in the restaurant for $8.95. I did not eat the breakfast, so, I can't comment on it. There is a Panera Bread, Buffalo Wild Wings and several other fast food restaurants within easy walking distance. There was also a shopping mall several blocks away. The downtown business district was approximately 8 miles away and it took about 10 minutes during morning and afternoon trafiic. Nothing fancy. I would give it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were traveling to the Smoky Mountains from New Jersey and we stopped at this holiday inn Tanglewood. The hotel is very clean and the front desk person was very nice. After we got our key we went to our rooms and they were very clean and the bed's were very comfortable. In our group of 36 I heard no complaints about the hotel everybody loved the place. I ate at the restaurant I had stuffed shrimp and it was delicious. I also swam in the pool and the pool was very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east midlands
Level Contributor
297 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Driving down the Blue Ridge and needed a convenient overnight stay. This was it. On the outskirts of Roanoke it was convenient for travellers, less so for downtown Roanoke. The hotel is indistinguishable from others in the chain. It's quite large which meant quite a long haul with the luggage to our fifth floor rooms but once there the rooms were fine; they were comfortable, reasonably spacious and quiet. There is a small reception area where the staff were helpful but for the most part the public areas seemed taken over by group activities. There were large and small conferences whilst we were there and over the succeeding weekend it looked like a large wedding party arrived.

There are no actual in-house eating facilities but there is a bar-restaurant attached which is a de facto part of the hotel. We sat at the bar there and ate an evening meal to the accompaniment of an amusingly garrulous barman and some of his equally vociferous customers largely discoursing on the NBA regional playoffs. A bit lost on Europeans with little interest in and even less knowledge of the sport. Breakfast was additional and served on a generous scale in the restaurant area; it was of a pretty good standard and certainly better than the usual complimentary version.

We never left the premises as the area around is largely commercial. We have been to downtown Roanoke before and realised it isn't a bad place to hang out but frankly couldn't be bothered to get the car out again after a day's drive. That tells you a little about the hotel; it's a stopover rather than a destination unless like the conference attendees and the wedding guests there was a reason for being there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

During the recent storm emergency in VA I stayed at Holiday Inn Roanoke-Tanglewood with a disabled friend. An hour after arrival, the electric went out there, too, in scorching 100+ degree heat. My friend is in a power chair and could not get transportation out. The hotel was marginally cooler than our brick apartment building, but had no lights, no hot water,no phone, and no food. The staff refused to even consider a PARTIAL refund for our money in a hotel without services for several nights. I had prepaid for 4 days and the hotel refused to return even a penny of the unused days so that we could try to find another hotel. They will be hearing from our lawyer!!! All I can say is BOYCOTT BOYCOTT BOYCOTT!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Ms. Loria

Please be informed that our guest's satisfaction is our top priroity and I am sorry that the power went out due to Natural Disaster in area .

We have refunded money to the guest for unused nights during the power outage at the hotel, however if the reservation is made through 3-party websites we recommend you to contact them directly as they will have your credit card and other information.

Management can be reached at 540-767-6459 if you need help calling the customer care number for the site you made reservation with. Due to privacy issues they will not disclose and personal information with hotel staff.

I hope this wil help you expedite the refund process. Please feel free to contact hotel for any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn for a long weekend. The Hotel itself is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean, well maintained, and the property is in the process of a refurbishment You'll get more than you expect from a typical Holiday Inn, and this property is a good value for the money. Having said that, I must say that the entire Holiday Inn team impressed me during our stay. The weekend we were there there was a major power outage in the area during an intense heat wave. The hotel was booked solid as it served as a refuge for many, many people (and for their pets). The staff was as cool as the rooms, and was continually helpful and friendly during what was for many a very trying few days. Kudos!

Room Tip: The top floor is quietest, and has (of course) the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood-Roanoke. Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was terrific - decorated nicely - quiet and comfortable. Overall, a very good experience. We'd definitely stay there again when visiting Roanoke, VA.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatelR158, Manager at Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your feedback. Our guest/s feedbacks are very important to us as it gives us an opportunity to get better at what we do. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was upto your satisfaction. We will share & celebrate your review with the team of Holiday Inn Tanglewood.

Thank You
Rohan Patel
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
4.2 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood

Property: Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Address: 4468 Starkey Road Southwest, Roanoke, VA 24018-0611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, The Holiday Inn Hotel Tanglewood-Roanoke, has the best scenic views in the Roanoke Valley. Ideally located in beautiful Southwest Roanoke, we are just 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway, and conveniently located adjacent to Rte 220 and I-581, the Roanoke Civic Center, Virginia Tech, Roanoke College, Hollins University, VA Western Community College, Smith Mountain Lake, Salem Civic Center, Historic Downtown Roanoke, Carilion Hospital, Lewis Gale Hospital, and Mill Mountain. Our hotel is the perfect location for your next business meeting or convention. Complimentary business center. Relax in the lobby by the fireplace or walk next door to Tanglewood Mall for a little shopping. Join us in the Elephant Walk Restaurant for "Comfort Foods Harvested Locally" serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily. The Elephant Walk Lounge is a great place enjoy our southern brand of hospitality and enjoy your favorite game on one of our 6 Big Screen TVs. Our beautifully renovated guestrooms were designed with the business traveler in mind. Each room has plush new linens, free WIFI, two dual-line speakerphones, extra outlets, new new carpeting and fresh new look on the walls and much more. King rooms include over sized desk with ergonomic desk chairs and sleeper sofas. All guest rooms have micro-fridges, great for family travelers. Pamper yourself in one of Jacuzzi Rooms/Suites. Priority Club Members enjoy special benefits at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood - Roanoke. Such as welcome bags & complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Holiday Inn Tanglewood
Roanoke Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing