We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel, slightly above average, pricey for the service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, slightly above average, pricey for the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The hotel is nice, conveniently located near the 581 and just in front of Tanglewood mall. Plenty of restaurants around, fast access to downtown though the 581, near Mill Mountain and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

The hotel is clean, ample rooms, big comfortable bed, great wireless Internet access (fast and working all the time), comfortable desk. I don't know how good the TV cable service is, I turned it on a couple times and it seems basic. TV series, news, local channels, etc. Nothing looked like premium, no new movies, no specials. There are coffee machines in the rooms but you can get coffee already made at any time. The windows are locked, there's an air conditioning system (hot, cold or fan only) with local controls. I like fresh air from an open window but it's not a big deal.
Lights are fine although it would be better to have less options for diffuse lights (entrance, bathroom area, bed, desk) and a more focused light over the desk. I ended up working over the bed with the bedside lights.

Bathrooms are fine but a little too small for my taste. They're the typical compartment for toilet and shower capsule with the sink/mirror outside. The rooms have hair dryer and iron and ironing board, three things that I don't use so I can't comment.

The whole hotel is neat and clean, however I found a box of gum left behind by a previous traveler. It shows that they're not good at details. The box had 35 cts and a couple gum pills left. I took the coins, so I can't really complain about that.

Breakfast is limited in variety. Coffee, decaf, tea, orange and cranberry juice, two choices of cereal (one is the awful Froot-Loops that tastes like Play-doh) and bagels with butter, Philadelphia and jam. There are ice and soda machines too but that's all.

Employees are friendly and helpful but, being mostly a self service hotel, you won't see much of them. You can see their work though, the hotel runs like clockwork. Plain and simple clock but working.

Overall, the hotel is fine but at that price range I'm sure you can get the same plus a room fridge and full continental and American breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabekawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    23
    15
    17
See reviews for
30
24
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Pet friendly hotels that are clean are pretty hard to come by, so I was pleasantly surprised that this Sleep Inn was so nice. I am a hotel snob, having status at several high-end chains for my job, so I was worried about Sleep Inn. I shouldn't have been! The hotel was clean in general, as was the room.
We stayed in a suite with two queens in the bedroom and a pull out sofa in the living room. Plenty of space for our family of four (and two small dogs). The suite had a bath and a half. Oh, and there were tons of fluffy pillows.
Wireless internet worked fine for my husband's laptop but wouldn't work for my iPod Touch.
Breakfast was okay ... bagels, cereal, pastries, oatmeal packets, apples, coffee and juice.
If you are looking for a decent space at a reasonable price, especially if you are traveling with pets, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookyjo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We were very pleased with our stay in this Sleep Inn. The room was large, very clean and fresh. The staff was courteous, helpful, and efficient. We will definitely stay here the next time we pass this way.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank anselmo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

The Sleep Inn Tanglewood is just built cheaply. I could hear the TV in the next room loud and clear, and it was VERY noisy when the person in the room above me walked around. The whole building shook a little whenever anyone walked down the hallway.

Also, the wireless internet access was inconsistent. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. That may have been a temporary problem, but I was there for four nights and it didn't improve.

  • Liked — The room was clean and the service was good.
  • Disliked — The building was built cheaply and the noise was awful.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2006

I had some reservations about staying here from what others had to say but i guess i had to find out for myself.
The bad: I could hear, quite clearly, the noise from rooms on both sides of me. My one neighbor, obviously a little hard of hearing, had his tv a little too loud for me and apparently he also liked to sleep with it on as well .. although i did not! It woke me several times - i'm glad he stayed just the one night i was here. The other problem was the noise from the AC unit. When it kicked on, look out. Sounded more like a generator than an AC unit. Smaller complaints - cleaning people didn't wash coffee maker or clean bathroom counter, all the doors to the rooms slam shut - loudly!. Bed was pretty badly worn.
The good: furniture was in good shape, bathroom was clean and looked newer, TV had good selection of channels.
I would not stay here again if visiting. This place is over priced for what you get but if you're just spending one night and in a crunch it would do. I would ask for a room with no neighbors if possible due to the noise that transfers.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wonderin_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2005

Nice room, free wireless internet in the room worked great, plus they had a PC in the lobby if you needed to print. Breakfast was great, with lots of choices and very helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annajonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2004

Excellent accomodations, excellent employee service. Have stayed there several times and look forward to being there again.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
6.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Airport
MainStay Suites Airport
#13 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Property: Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Address: 4045 Electric Rd, Roanoke, VA 24018-8442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing