We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Before I checked in at The Sleep Inn /Tanglewood I was at another choice hotel "that wasn't my best choice" I couldn't wait to check out of The Roadway Inn on Orange Ave/460. I viewed The Sleep Inn online and liked what I saw but after Roadway I felt a doghouse would do..lol
Well I made a excellent Choice with this Choice Hotel! Can't express how comfortable I was..Yet what also stood out was a employee named Jared. ? I mention my Roadway experience and that young man put me at ease and gave me such outstanding customer service, even went to my room to see that things were correct himself. He really went the extra mile not just on day one but continue right into day two..
My faith is restored in ChoiceHotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel through Expedia (I recommend this), which was the best deal we could find in the area with interior rooms and it conveniently ended up being only 2.5 miles from the conference. It was a pretty good experience considering the deal we got. When we first arrived, there was a strong smell of smoke in our non-smoking room (219), so I went to tell the desk worker and she quickly moved us to another room. The new room (214) smelled fresh and clean upon entering. I checked out the two most important things to me, the bathroom and the sheets, and both appeared to be clean so we were satisfied. There are some signs of age and wear and tear with the furniture and stains on the hallway carpet, but to be fair there is a sign in the front of the lobby that states that the hotel is under renovations. There is some evidence of mold STAINING around the shower door from past mold, but not actual present mold. It's hard to keep shower doors clean anyway, and it appears that this may have been an issue for this hotel in the past but I understand that they are under new management. You can hear other folks move about the hotel, but that kind of thing doesn't annoy me. I liked the layout of the room. I slept very soundly and the complementary breakfast selection was very nice.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have problems with stairs, request a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Was riding the Blue Ridge Parkway all day, needed a place to stay for the night, and not too expensive. Was pleasenty surprised. The room was clean and comfortable staff was friendly. Breakfast was great. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sswoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

however, I think they have and will be renovating for a good while! It's off the beaten path and I don't think I'll stay there again. The gentleman across the hall was on his third room that night! Good breakfast choices, staff was very friendly and other than that, the hotel didn't have much going for it.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, I'd ask for a first floor room if you have trouble ambulating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Although a sign posted on the lobby door says the hotel is under renovations, this place has a long way to go. Just going down the long, dark and dirty looking hallway to our room was enough to make me want to run away. We gave it a try and discovered the room had a nice layout and not much else. The powder along the walls should have given us a clue as to the problems we would encounter. After returning from dinner, we found dozens of ants crawling on the desk and up the wall. Management allowed us to change rooms but the ants still followed along the window ledge. The sofa bed was a joke and not made for sleep. The shower stall had black mold on the bottom of the door and, although the room was clean, it desperately needed a serious update. We were expected to stay two nights, but left after only one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Sleep Inn is a basic 2 star hotel without frills. This one was clean and comfortable. Liked the room fridge with a real freezer space. Convenient to Tanglewood Mall, although the Mall seems to be dying a slow death inside. Real good breakfast for this level hotel.

Room Tip: Third floor might have been quieter. Easy to hear those above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuddyRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Convenient location, comfortable and clean room . Free breakfast was surprisingly good with enough choice to please the average traveler. Only complaints we had was the lack of an elevator which should be noted in the description of amenities and disappointment with meager cable tv choices which did not include Fox News

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfer781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
1.1 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 40 in Roanoke
131 reviews
7.3 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
0.8 mi away
Affordable Corporate Suites
Affordable Corporate Suites
#24 of 40 in Roanoke
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Address: 4045 Electric Rd, Roanoke, VA 24018-8442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range: $65 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing