We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is less expensive than any I priced in the area and newer and nicer as well! Front desk for check-in was very nice and accommodating. Calling to front desk with a different clerk wasn't as nice or accommodating, so they lose a point for that. Otherwise, very clean, great centralized, convenient and safe location, ample parking.

Room Tip: I prefer a room further away from the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHRIS_FRANCISCO, General Manager at Sleep Inn Tanglewood, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for the Review. We are very pleased to see that your stay with us was a good one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    23
    15
    17
See reviews for
30
24
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

A decent place to rest your head for a night or two: that sums up the Sleep Inn experience. It promises to be nothing more, and it isn't . Rooms are smallish but all basic amenities are in place, including an in-room coffee pot. Furnishings and bedding are cheap but functional. The bed is surprisingly comfortable and affords a good night's sleep.

The overall atmosphere of the hotel is respectable, but it is clear that everything has been designed/built with economy in mind. Walls are paper thin, so you can hear everything (everything!) your neighbors are doing. The floors shake when people are walking down the hall.

The location is good with lots of shopping, restaurants, and a nice movie theater within a five minute drive. Downtown is 10 minutes away, and the airport / Valley View shopping district is a 15 minute drive.

If you're working with a limited budget, the Sleep Inn is fine but don't expect anything more than basic accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Our room was great, staff very helpful, but our Non-Smoking room left a lasting odor on our clothes we wore the next day. By the way breakfast...biscuits were cold as if they had been refrigerated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandpoppy35055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Got a King Non-Smoking room for $75 with tax. Hotel is convenient to a 4 lane thoroughfare. Two restaurants (KFC and some Mexican joint) are in easy walking distance. Big convenience store across the street, but be careful...it's a busy street. Plenty of well-lit free parking.

Desk staff were cheerful and helpful. Interior corridors are wide and well-lit. Room was standard Sleep Inn..a little cozy, but fine. Decor a bit dated (and probably wasn't fashionable when it was new), but all appears to be clean and in good repair. No odd smells or stains...but also no fridge or microwave.
AC blew cold, wifi was speedy and the old tube style TV had plenty of channel choices.

Other reviewers have had issues with noise. None here. I heard no road/parking lot noise at all. Further, I was surprised to find (in the morning) that I had guests on both sides of my room, as I had heard no noise through the walls.

Bathroom had the Sleep Inn shower stall...clean and adequate.

Free breakfast offered sausage gravy and biscuits, hard boiled eggs and some danish. Unfortunately, an earlier guest...no brain surgeon :) had heated two eggs to the point of explosion and left them for someone else to clean. Neat science experiment...when someone else has to clean it up. The unexploded breakfast was fine, by the way, but the bagels, biscuits, danish, bread could have been a little fresher.

No big gripes here...this is a nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veggieracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed here three times in the last month. While it is not the Ritz, it is very adequate. Rooms are large, carpet in good condition, shower very nice. Pillows are rather small but most are in hotels. Will stay here when in the area. Great buy!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I've stayed at this property numerous times, a few flaws, but overall I always have a good stay here. 2 stories, no elevator. Convenient parking. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. Typical Sleep Inn rooms and layout. Comfortable bed and pillows, nice work desk.
Wi-Fi works well, reasonable rates. Only drawbacks are snack machines not stocked, and the breakfast is very simple, donuts, bagels, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice. Computer and printer in lobby. Mexican restaurant next door and a KFC, both easy to walk to. Several convenience stores close by, shopping mall and other restaurants right down the street. For the money, it's the best value I've found in this type of hotel when doing business in Roanoke.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rocknrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel was fine. There was no candy in the vending machines so I had to leave to get a sugar fix.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roanoke
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Inn at Ridgewood Farm
7.2 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
1.1 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 39 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
6.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Airport
MainStay Suites Airport
#13 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Tanglewood

Property: Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Address: 4045 Electric Rd, Roanoke, VA 24018-8442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Tanglewood 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Inn Tanglewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tanglewood Hotel Roanoke
Sleep Inn Roanoke
Roanoke Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing