We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“love the whole fried fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Busara

Busara
Ranked #33 of 146 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“love the whole fried fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We've been here several times. We always order the shrimp bikini (my two year old calls them shrimp in a blanket) and the whole fried fish. The food is excellent and the service is always good. I even schedule a holiday dinner with my work team a few years ago.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nothinggreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    52
    26
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Breaking up is hard to do!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was a great restaurant, but not so much anymore. We have eaten here 3 times over the last 4 months and kept hoping that it was just an 'off' day and would it would be better next time. Unfortunately, last Saturday was the last time. The Pad Thai chicken was awful. The meat was flavorless, tough, and chewy and the flavors of the Pad Thai were uninspired and bland. We also ordered the Ka Pow beef which was over the top hot, even though we ordered it mild. It always worries me a bit when I see beef with a almost metallic sheen to it. I wanted to stay in love with this restaurant, but I guess I am going to have to find another. Breaking up is hard to do!.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OK2BU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
209 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A bit of disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I really enjoy Thai food and have been to Thailand several times. Two of us were looking for a place to eat and when I saw a Thai restaurant I knew I had found dinner. I had chicken satay for an appetizer and pad thai for a main. The satay was not very warm and the pad thai noodles were over cooked and the sauce was just not what I thought it could be. Service was OK but had to get the servers attention to get the bill. The food wasn't bad it just wasn't anything special. I would not go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFarmer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Have had better Fried Nice from the Grocery store”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Was extremely excited to bring (5) of my co-workers to Busara in the reston Town Ctr today,
since I saw online how great the food was suppose to be. NOT.

The Service was OK, kinda slow but it was lunch time, but the REAL disappointment was the food. My VP of Eng. asked for some suggestions for the waitress and what she gave him looked like it was just dumped into a deep fryer and that was it. I ordered their so called classic dish
"BUSARA Fried Rice with Shrimp" Even the shrimp had NO Taste at all.
Go find yourself a real true Thai rest. since these folks don't seem to care about providing
you food with any real taste.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinManTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Busara is located in Reston Town center, Ample parking in the garage. Excellent location and ambiance. You can sit outside and enjoy people watching. Food was excellent, had ordered Pad Thai which was excellent. Service was great, Was meeting a friend after a long time and they left us alone but at the same time were attentive to our needs. I would go there again for Thai food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nayanj885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busara also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Busara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing