We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariake Sushi

Ariake Sushi
Ranked #12 of 144 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice lunch here. Prices are reasonable. Food is very good. Service was quick even though the place was jammed. Fish is good quality but I thought the toro was a little below top grade. Overall I liked the place and would return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth venturing from the Town Center for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I'm a sucker for ambiance, and this place has got it! Plus the sushi is fresh and their daily sushi roll specials are interesting. It's a stand alone building just off Reston Parkway that you have to make a special trip for, but so worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good sushi, very expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Yes the sushi is good, yes the fish is fresh but this restaurant is located in a not so nice neighborhood and they are charging DC sushi prices which boggles my mind. Their customer service is also pretty bad, but like I said - the sushi is good-I'll give it to them.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“my second favorite local sushi restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ariaki is located not far from my home, so it's my go-to place for sushi when I'm feeling too lazy to drive more than 10 minutes.

It's a casual restaurant with good food, service and prices. There's outdoor seating for warmer days, but the inside of the restaurant is just as nice. (Years ago the restaurant used to be a McDonalds! Seriously. But it was renovated extensively, and now it's a sharp looking Japanese restaurant in the suburbs.)

There's a variety of Japanese dishes available, but we typically go for the sushi. There's plenty of choices, and I'm partial to the somewhat spicy ones. Two or three sushi chefs are typically on duty, and so there's never much of a wait for your food. Never been there for lunch, but have done take-out and eaten in for dinner a number of times. Always tastes good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Sushi Subarashi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite local restaurant and the best sushi in the area by far, Ariake's raw fare is always delicious. Ariake consistently prepares excellent sushi (some of the best we have had outside of Japan). Their specials are typically inventive and very tasty; be sure to add a special into your regular sushi assortment.

Ariake has some other tasty Japanese items on the menu but the sushi is rightfully the headliner. Save the other dishes for a return trip. We like to pair an array of nigiri and makizushi with miso soup and wakame salad to start, and a tall Kirin or Asahi. If you are still hungry, go for some green tea ice cream, or just order another Reston Roll, after all, you came for sushi.

The staff is attentive and very friendly; they read the table's vibe well and will give prompt, quiet service or strike up a conversation accordingly. The atmosphere is equally quiet or lively depending on the size of the crowd, but is always cozy.

If you are in Reston, you should be eating here. If you are not in Reston, make the trip!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gavnwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariake Sushi also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Ariake Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing