We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 146 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: In the tradition of Italy's trattorias, the sight, sounds and aromas of authentic Italian cuisine are recreated fresh everyday at Il Fornaio. Literally "the baker" in Italian, Il Fornaio offers wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade and imported pastas; pizzas from a wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. The first two weeks of each month a special menu from a different region of Italy is featured as part of Festa Regionale.
los angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food was OK. I was hoping to be wowed by the food and found it to be very average and a bit pricey. Service was OK, not great considering all the nice reviews I had read about. Beautiful decor and the Calamari was excellent. I have had much better food at other Italian restaurants so I cannot recommend ll Fornaio.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank veliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear about your experience at Il Fornaio in Reston. We strive to provide a great experience for every guest and appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention.

I have spoken with our Team members the importance of following the recipies. We would like to invite you and a guest to come in again at no cost to see for yourself that we have taken your feedback seriously and that we are capable of providing a much better dining experience.
Please contact me directly if you are open to revisiting our restaurant.

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
jbarajas@ilfo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    95
    50
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
541 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good Italian food and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Il Fornaio is located in the Reston Town Center, just outside Washington, DC. I was there on business and several of us had dinner due to its convenient location, near our hotel. The restaurant was packed on a weekday night so I highly recommend making a reservation. The food was good with traditional dishes, like pasta, done very well. The pizza is done in an hot oven, in alignment with the name. The wine list was long but prices seemed too high for a visitor. The service was good with the waiter trying (unsuccessfully) to sell us on overpriced anti pasto.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that your experience at Il Fornaio Reston was outstanding and memorable. I have shared your positive sentiments with our team who were elated about the good work they strive to deliver on a daily basis.
Please make sure to ask for me or anyone on our management team on your next visit so we can thank you in person!

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
Jbarajas@ilfo.com
General Manager
Il Fornaio Authentic Italian Restaurant and Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Average Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Nothing special, it is better than Paolos in the town center but I'd recommend going to Vienna to Bonarti.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel B, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Buon Giorno,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear about your experience at Il Fornaio in Reston. We strive to provide a great experience for every guest and appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention.

We would like to invite you and a guest to come in again at no cost to see for yourself that we have taken your feedback seriously and that we are capable of providing a much better dining experience.

Please contact me directly if you are open to revisiting our restaurant.

Mille grazie,
Joel Barajas
General Manager
jbarajas@ilfo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food was amazing and the service was excellent. The Bread served at the table was fresh baked and tasted amazing. I was there for lunch and it was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was the second time we've dined at Il Fornaio. the first time was several years ago when it first opened. At that time, my impression was that the service was good but the food was overpriced. My impression has not changed. First, We had an 8pm Friday nite reservation, and showed up 20 minutes early. The hostess had no problem seating us early. Our waiter was superb and made our dining experience a pleasant one. We tried one of the wine specials, a super tuscan, that was very good. My wife had a spinach ravioli with sausage and arrabiatta sauce, that was fine, but my chicken and spinach canelloni was very average and very gloppy with cheese and bechamel sauce. The pasta entrees were around $18 each while our salads were around$10 each. While the atmosphere was nice, there are too many restaurants at the Reston Town Center to serve average food. Go elsewhere if you are looking for good Italian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shadmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing