We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our go-to place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafesano

Cafesano
Ranked #3 of 148 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafesano serves Italian and Mediterranean food in an upscale quick-casual cafe environment located on Lake Thoreau in the South Lakes Village Center in Reston, Virginia. Our hours are from 11-9 daily. Enjoy our fresh and flavorful Appetizers, Panini, Wraps, Salads, Pizza and Kabobs. Kids Menu and Gluten Free Menu available. Vegetarian friendly menu. Nice variety and reasonably priced beer and wine. Our patio overlooks Lake Thoreau and there is ample parking. Cafesano. Tastes good! Feels good!
Reston, Virginia USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our go-to place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

It's great to find a go-to place you know will always be a good experience. Cafesano has been our family's go-to place for years. Really good mediterranean food, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices, fairly quick service (you order at the counter and then wait at your table for them to bring it to you, though sometimes it can be a bit slow if they're crowded). This is the place we always go to before any evening activity, whether it's a school event for the kids or going to the movies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    84
    27
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The salads were excellent, Mediterranean entrees good and pizza average. Cafeteria type ordering with the dishes brought to the table. Good, casual dining in an comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

You could easily drive right past Casfesano in its strip mall location, but don't. It's a great little place for a light lunch or dinner, with nicely prepared paninis, salads, pizzas, and some entrees. The first time I was here, I wasn't expecting to have to stand in line to place my order, but service is very quick, efficient and pleasant, and your food is brought to the table in minutes. Prices are very reasonable as well, with dinner for three only costing about $12 per person including non-alcoholic beverages (they also serve beer and wine, but we're not drinkers). We're sure to become regulars here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twobrats64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh, vegetarian options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful place in a lovely locations. Lots of options for vegetarians. So many choices, always fresh. One of our new favs!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anginva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best Bang for your Buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This little restaurant is located in the middle of a shopping center, overlooking the lake. It is incredibly laid back, cozy, and the food and prices can't be beat. This is a great place if you are looking for a fun dinner date but don't want to pay astronomical prices to have a fine, sit-down dinner. Service is pretty fast but there is no pressure to get in and out. They also serve great beer and wine as well as fabulous desserts.

The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. I highly recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oakchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafesano also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Cafesano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing