We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant, strange location”
Review of El Manantial Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Manantial Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Wiehle Ave.
Description: El Manatial is a family operated restaurant, featuring European Fusion Cuisine. We offer Italian, French and Spanish specialties, including a Tapas bar.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, strange location”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Also in a nearly abandoned shopping center, El Manintial has a great wine list, great food, and a nice ambiance. We've never seen it crowded, which concerns us. If you're looking for a good meal in Reston without the 20 somethings that often take over the place, head over to El Manintial.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mattreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Everything you could want for a special, special occasion”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Featuring Spanish, Italian, and French food this resturant is a big-time winner--enjoyable ambiance, friendly staff, and food "to die for". We found this resturant to be a dinning experience that matched our anniversary. Veal melted in your mouth. Seasfood selection made you want to order more than one meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1LarryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another winner from Trip Advisor reviewers - Go!”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

How is this place not packed on a Saturday evening? Granted, we dined early at 6:30 but still. As we were leaving we noticed the owner warmly greeting his regulars. Quality food, nice selection, good service and a lovely, quiet restaurant where you can hear the conversation of your friends and family. We will be back. ps. the almond torte was to die for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunbun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Service & Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is our long time NoVA go-to restaurant. In addition to frequent visits as a couple, we hold our annual company Christmas party at El Manantial to rave reviews from our appreciative staff. The service by this family-run and staffed restaurant is truly outstanding and the quality of the food lives up to the service. The wine list is also excellent, featuring Spanish and South American wines not commonly found elsewhere in this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very nice Christmas office lunch”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a very nice time with very good food for our first visit to El Manantial for an office Christmas lunch celebration. Although the restaurant was very busy and we did not have reservations, they fit the three of us in very quickly. A little time passed before our waiter came, but not too bad. The waiter didn't really ask us about what we might like to drink, but otherwise the service was pretty good - not exceptional, but good. Our appetizer of escargots had a bit too strong of a mushroom taste and perhaps too much liquid/sauce, overpowering the escargots. The calamari appetizer surprisingly looked very pre-fabbed and likely frozen, having almost too clean of a cut compared to other calamari servings, but they actually were quite tasty, with a nice aioli sauce underneath and good seasonings. One of us ordered grilled scallops on a bed of spinach - they were very good, but we were surprised to find it to be a cold dish. Interestingly, a good number of their dishes were offered on a bed of lettuce. I had the mixed seafood over linguini, with a nice spicy red sauce. The grilled shrimp in that dish were excellent, and the calamari very tender. The last of us ordered one of their pizzas, which also was quite good - although be aware that the pizza had very little sauce on it, almost like a white pizza, but not expressly described as such. We greatly enjoyed the decor, including specifically the painted mural along the wall, and the restaurant had a loud (but not overly so), energetic vibe. A nice contrast to the rest of the strip mall (including a presently empty grocery store space) where the restaurant is located. Overall, a nice experience and I will plan to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank obxforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Manantial Restaurant also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing