We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Overcrowded”

la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #27 of 152 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Wiehle, VA
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Noisy and Overcrowded”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Unable to rate the food as my associate and I who planned to dine here for a luncheon meeting were never seated despite waiting over 30 minutes! So, we went elsewhere. Not going back. This place makes Romano's look good by comparison!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    56
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Greatest food.. Service: patience required”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We are so fortunate to have this restaurant in the Reston area. The service is cafeteria style and your selection must be brought to you by displaying a numbered table flag.

All of the dishes we tried here were great. Even better are the salads, bread and pastries. Wine, tea and soft drinks are available, but no bar service.

Have patience, and learn to love the most authentic French dishes in Reston.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Business”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a quick business breakfast here and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The place really gets busy with lots of hustle and bustle which means it can get a little noisy at times. Quality food and a cool atmosphere; I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst customer service & food today”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I haven't been to La Madeleine French Bakery & Café in Reston in a year. My husband and I went there for lunch today @ 1:15 pm. They were busy, but it was the WORST food and service I've ever experienced. None of the vacant tables had been cleaned so there was no place to dine in without removing other customers plates & glassware before dining in. I ordered a spinach salad with chicken. After one bite I couldn't eat it. The chicken tasted odd and looked more like shredded beef. When I got back in line to exchange the salad for a bowl of soup, When I asked for a soup spoon I was told they didn't have any at the time to come back later. The cashier didn't know what to do. I blame the management for overall hiring employees that didn't seem to care about customer service! I won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice warm fire”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We called in for desert as a family group of 8 aged 5 to over times that age. A good selection of deserts, nice coffee and a great warm fire on an icy cold December night. We'll go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing