We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Spot for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #27 of 145 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
264 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Had a quick business breakfast here and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The place really gets busy with lots of hustle and bustle which means it can get a little noisy at times. Quality food and a cool atmosphere; I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    43
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst customer service & food today”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I haven't been to La Madeleine French Bakery & Café in Reston in a year. My husband and I went there for lunch today @ 1:15 pm. They were busy, but it was the WORST food and service I've ever experienced. None of the vacant tables had been cleaned so there was no place to dine in without removing other customers plates & glassware before dining in. I ordered a spinach salad with chicken. After one bite I couldn't eat it. The chicken tasted odd and looked more like shredded beef. When I got back in line to exchange the salad for a bowl of soup, When I asked for a soup spoon I was told they didn't have any at the time to come back later. The cashier didn't know what to do. I blame the management for overall hiring employees that didn't seem to care about customer service! I won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice warm fire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We called in for desert as a family group of 8 aged 5 to over times that age. A good selection of deserts, nice coffee and a great warm fire on an icy cold December night. We'll go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“...watch the world go by in Reston, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe in Reston, VA is extra special to us as that was where we were enjoying a wonderful breakfast when we were told our first granddaughter was on the way, no really, on the w-a-y down the birth canal. I am not one to eat 'strange' stuff so when this place was suggested to me I was not impressed with the thought, but I have since returned to this restaurant on several occasions. The food is very tasty and there is a reasonable amount of it (which is unusual from my experiences with French food). It has a fireplace to set and drink coffee and in the warmer months you can find a place outside and watch the world go by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorback-n-Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great french bakery/dining establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of my favorite french bakeries and prefer eating here over panera bread or corner bakery. They have a variety of pastries that are fantastic, but I mainly go there for lunch and or dinner. There's several pasta platters and salads to choose from. Their chicken friand with mushroom sauce is tasty and my favorite salads are the ceaser salad with chicken or the strawberry spinach salad with chicken. I also think that the ingredients are healthier. My favorite soups here are the tomato basil and french onion soup.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing