We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe

la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
1833 Fountain Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-707-0704
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 144 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I always love this place. The guy at the front door taking orders was particularly friendly with great humor. The food came quick, it was delicious as usual.

Helpful?
Thank DCNewleyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    43
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I attended a bridal shower for a friend held at La Madeleine. Even though I have lived in the area for years, I had never been in the restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised. I had a light meal (French onion soup, potato galette, and lemonade), and it was tasty and filling. Several friends ordered more substantial meals (salads and sandwiches), everything looked and smelled good. I like that there was a good selection of menu items. I also like the little alcove that can be reserved for parties -- there is a fireplace, which adds such a nice touch! The staff was pleasant, but not overbearing, I was impressed with how quickly they are able to turn over the tables as it was busy the entire time I was there. It's not the fanciest place in town, but an enjoyable place to enjoy a meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RestonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good N Quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here for a quick sweet snack and a pastry for taking to someones home. The bakery section was with good selection and was fresh.
Worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best French dishes at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The diner who expects to be seated, then be addressed by a waiter describing the specials of the day, will,be lost here. The diner must carefully examine the menu from the rack as you enter, then order the various dishes from the chefs and servers behind the food line. If you order an item that must be prepared, you are given a numbered wooden paddle to take to your table a await delivery of your choice.

Cesar salads are carefully prepared, soups and main dishes are individually prepared and delivered rather promptly. Wine, desert and other beverages are available to complement the meal. Make no mistake however, don't complain about the service, because there ain't any.. Merely the best French dishes available at any area restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeasten Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Yummy Fast-French Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A cafeteria-style restaurant, this place is always busy at lunchtime. They have excellent selections that are priced right. Their French onion soup is delicious and their salad trio choice is a big hit. I love their Strawberries Romanoff as light dessert to top off a rich meal. Their rosemary roast chicken is beautifully prepared. Pastries, while a bit expensive for what they are, are delicious and high quality. Their mini-pastries are the way to go for a two-bit sweet treat after a meal and their French coffee is excellent.

When winter arrives, they have a roaring fire in the fireplace which makes the visit quite cozy. A nice place for a casual date.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShenandoahBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Springfield, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing