We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Asian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bowl Chinese and Thai

Big Bowl Chinese and Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Chinese and Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 144 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai, Gluten Free, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Reston Town Center.
Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Asian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent variety, good taste and reasonable price. The menu varied to satisfy every pallate. I would go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    122
    40
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Ordeded Thai food. Pad Thai and Thai Hot Pepper Chicken. They used a lot of vinegar on both dishes. Very blend but salty. they tasted nothing like Thai food. Very disappointed meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvmygldns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious and a little different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This restaurant in located in the wonderful Reston Town Center. The food was delicious, service was wonderful. My friends and I really enjoyed it. Rather than authentic Asian, this is sort of Asian fusion, but very fresh and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NC8307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese / Thai food in Reston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant with some friends in Reston, Virginia. It is a good sized restaurant, and we were a party of 10. The menu is very nice, with many choices of Thai and Chinese food. A few people made their own bowl of vegetables and meat, which the servers then cooked and brought over to our table. I went more traditional, starting out with a very tasty bowl of chicken wonton soup (which was very large for a "small" cup), and then having beef and broccoli. Mine came with Thai jasmine rice, but you can substitute brown rice or fried rice if you like. The food was very good and tasty.

I also had a glass of wine with dinner. They have a decent selection, but I wasn't sure it was kept at the proper temperature, as it did not taste like a Riesling. It was kind of pricey as well, so you might want to skip having wine and concentrate on the delicious food.

They also had issues with dividing up the check among the group, so it took us a while to settle up. Overall, a really good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best if you make your own bowl.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in Reston town center for a meeting, and thought I'd pick up a quick meal to go. I had been in Big Bowl before when I had time to sit down and pick my own stir fry ingedients and that had always been good. Unfortunately I learned that the to-go kung-pao is not made to the same standard. VERY oily and tasted burned. So I'd recommend for sitting down as long as one doesn't mind the noise and not recommend for take out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Chinese and Thai also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Big Bowl Chinese and Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing