We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good Chinese / Thai food in Reston” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bowl Chinese and Thai

Big Bowl Chinese and Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Bowl Chinese and Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Reston Town Center.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese / Thai food in Reston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant with some friends in Reston, Virginia. It is a good sized restaurant, and we were a party of 10. The menu is very nice, with many choices of Thai and Chinese food. A few people made their own bowl of vegetables and meat, which the servers then cooked and brought over to our table. I went more traditional, starting out with a very tasty bowl of chicken wonton soup (which was very large for a "small" cup), and then having beef and broccoli. Mine came with Thai jasmine rice, but you can substitute brown rice or fried rice if you like. The food was very good and tasty.

I also had a glass of wine with dinner. They have a decent selection, but I wasn't sure it was kept at the proper temperature, as it did not taste like a Riesling. It was kind of pricey as well, so you might want to skip having wine and concentrate on the delicious food.

They also had issues with dividing up the check among the group, so it took us a while to settle up. Overall, a really good restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    133
    44
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best if you make your own bowl.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was in Reston town center for a meeting, and thought I'd pick up a quick meal to go. I had been in Big Bowl before when I had time to sit down and pick my own stir fry ingedients and that had always been good. Unfortunately I learned that the to-go kung-pao is not made to the same standard. VERY oily and tasted burned. So I'd recommend for sitting down as long as one doesn't mind the noise and not recommend for take out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thai and Chinese Food - Good Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm in Reston for training and went to this place for dinner. I'm dining solo so I sat at the bar. It's not a big bar but there are a few table tops in the area that you can sit at and get the 'bar specials'. Though they did not have their usual happy hour special at the bar side today (because it's Veterans Day and considered a holiday), many people at the bar (the regulars) talked about how good it is and from the looks of what they advertise, it seems to be a good deal, when available:
$3 beer specials, $4 wine, and $5 cocktails
$3 spicy sesame peanut noodles, chicken and vegetable pot stickers, or Szechuan green beans
$4 chicken satays, summer roll, or chicken egg roll
$5 Thai calamari, bbq spareribs, or chicken lettuce wraps

Happy hour typically runs Monday - Friday (holidays excluded) 3:00 - 7:00pm and then starts back up at 9:00pm until closing time.

If it's your first time, they do bring out a sample of the fried vegetarian dumpling for you to try out. It had a cream sauce to dip in and was very good.

I got the panang curry and it tasted good. Not too spicy but it had a little kick. The chicken was almost shredded like and very tender. It was served on a bed of rice and had snowpeas and green peas. They also have a good beer selection with 6 beers on tap (all microbrews - mainly local fro VA/MD/PA) and plenty of additional bottled beers also. The beer prices are kind of pricey at about $6 a beer but that's probably the norm around this area.

I went the 'Thai' option but there is also a Chinese option where you can make your own stir-fry (pick your choice of protein, vegetables, and sauce).

I got there around 6:00pm on a Monday evening and I was able to get a seat without waiting. There did not appear to be a wait today (bar side or restaurant side). I'll be here for a week...might be able to head back for happy hour specials

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Plings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
1 review
“Great asian fusion restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A nice restaurant with good food and ambience. Love the fresh ginger ale which is made with their own recipe, order it everytime I go there. Place is always busy so recommend making a reservation prior to arriving. They have a wide selection of appetizers and entrees. Some of the tables in the middle of the restaurant are too close so you may not get enough privacy. Other than that everything is else is really great! It is family friendly and the servicer is good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bharath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Healthy, lively Asian with great price late evening appetizers at bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very lively atmosphere and extremely friendly and helpful staff. They make you feel like a regular the second time. Great prices on certain very good appetizers weekdays starting 9pm: delicious summer rolls especially the veggie ones; Sichan green beans; pot-sticker dumplings. I got all three and delicious unlimited Hibiscus iced tea for under $15 before tip. Wonderful for a 9pm stop on the way home from working late. Great squash soup and thai curries. Fine for friends, family & couples, not business. Manager Yulia is a real pro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bowl Chinese and Thai also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Big Bowl Chinese and Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing