We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's Day”

Melting Pot Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Melting Pot Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 148 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Sunset Hills
Description: Dip Into Something Different
Loudoun County
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to visit on Valentine's Day. The service and food were great. I recommend the Wisconsin Trio to real cheese lovers. It gets a bit crowded on V Day, but other than that, the atmosphere was pretty good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    42
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something about it keeps bringing me back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Okay, a lot of us have now tried fondue, however, the Melting Pot has always been a quaint, yet fun evening with friends or just for 2. I like being able to try different menu selections each time for a new experience. I have made fondue as well at home, but it's just not the same. Price wise, they are a bit pricey, but the good definitely out weighs the fact of the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jbillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great for an evening, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

For a business model to have the guests do the cooking, not bad of gig. The veggies are prepped well in advance and therefore have started to dry. The cheese fondue starter is not special, the main meal is fresh meats but nothing you can't get a Giant, and the chocolate fondue dessert is average. My wife loves the place because it is quite, romantic, and fun. With it being restaurant week, the special pricing makes the meal reasonable, but the normal prices are not reflected in a high quality ingredients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth experience - mmm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Want a unique meal to complement a special occasion or just a very nice night out, this is it. Melting Pot brings the fondue pots to your secluded table and prepares it for you to do the final cooking. There is always something going on at the table where the meal prep requires participation by those eating. Whether its just a romantic dinner for two or a family celebrating an event. We found that our kids love it and it has become my wife's and my favorite places to eat. They start you out with a pot of melted cheese (mixed at your table) for you to dip your bread into followed by a pot of oil for your choice of meats for the main course. The dessert is also a fondue but with a pot of melted chocolate along with a choice of fruit. The staff is always very educated about the meal and have helpful suggestions on how best to order and prepare your own food. So don't hesitate to ask questions. We always have a lively conversation about the many choices and there is usually someone at the table who has questions about how best to dip their foods. It's always an event to visit here. On the down side, it is very expensive, generally over $100 for two of us. It's about the same cost/value as one of the top tier steakhouses. It is also anything but fast. It takes time to serve the food this way so expect to be at the table between one to three hours depending upon how many courses you request and people sitting around the table. I would suggest however, that you split a serving between two of you. This is because each serving is huge plus it will save you money spent on food that would otherwise be wasted. It can also be rather romantic or cozy to share. You won't go away hungry. The dim lighting and arrangement of tables also create a more private setting for your party. Not an every day place but certainly one for special occasions. Just expect a big bill and be prepared for a lengthy but very pleasant melt in your mouth experience. A place that can be romantic for two or fun for the family, the kids will love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unique Idea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I haven't had fondue in some 40 years until I ate here with my daughter recently. The concept is really quite unique. All the food is cooked by the customers in fondue pots at the table. There is a wide selection of offerings. I chose the beef/pork/chicken/shrimp plate. The food was very fresh and of superb quality. The service was also first rate; the manager even stopped by to ask about the meal. It is quite pricey, so perhaps should be reserved for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Pot Restaurant also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Melting Pot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing