We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Chinese Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madarin Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Madarin Inn
Ranked #109 of 146 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Reston, Virginia
1 review
“Great Chinese Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Their prices are the lowest I've seen in Northern VA. The egg rolls and General Tso's were great. I really like that they offer small portion sizes as well as the normal size portions. It's somewhat of a hole in the wall but I don't go to Chinese places for the ambiance. This is my new go to place for Chinese food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiehle, VA
Level Contributor
400 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“It's The Mandarin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

An absolute bargain! I've been going there for almost 20 years. Excellent take-out Chinese food, very modestly priced. The mid-day specials are an even better bargain!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food, modestly priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We order take out from here about once a month. Have been a patron for almost 12 years, and the family still loves it. Friendly staff.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmcecjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Name is wrong on here, but the food is unbelievable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

It's called "Mandarin." It's a little hole in the wall place that you'd never find if you didn't know it was there...i found it from the previous review, after searching for good Chinese in Reston for about 4 years. It's in an awful strip center, not visible from the road, behind Home Depot and next to Santini's. There are about 4 tables, and the place looks horrendous. It's staffed by a couple of young Chinese women.

I got egg rolls and mu shu pork to go...I waited a long time after I ordered, but that's a good sign...they were actually preparing it to my order rather than zapping it. And it was REALLY GOOD. Tasted very fresh. The mu shu in particular was very flavorful, not the mush that most Chinese places make it. The egg rolls were a little greasy but still pretty good. The prices were very modest; the mu shu was 5.95 I think. I'm going to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX USA
1 review
“BEST Chinese take out in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2008

Pretty much take out only. Incredibly great chinese take out.
NO MSG - taste is fresh and excellent. If you like chinese, you'll love this place. Unfortunately my wife and I moved to Texas and this is one of the only things we miss about Reston.

Helpful?
Thank goodfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madarin Inn also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Madarin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing