We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Too much” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCormick & Schmick's

McCormick & Schmick's
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 146 Restaurants in Reston
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bluemont
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too much”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were seated promptly, in one of the booths the best place to be seated. Our waiter introduced himself, then the general manager who was shadowing him that day. Calimari was good, not spectacular, Fresh oysters amazing! Entree's as always perfectly presented and delicious. Our server on the other hand was just too much, he actually bowed as he left every time, almost comical. Overall a wonderful experience. Try the planked salmon, it's proven to be consistenly perfect!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Captamerica911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    78
    69
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg,
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I had a very good experience at McCormick & Schmick's. Note that I visited during the slow time, around 4:30pm. But, I enjoyed myself thoroughly. The server was great! Absolutely loved the buttermilk oysters appetizer! I had the Seafood Trio and it was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sg2011523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average - bad value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wow - what a disappointment. We had our first dining room dinner at McCormick & Schmick's in Reston's town center. We have had dinner in the bar several times and it was fine - nothing fancy. The dining room is usually mobbed but last night it was empty so we decided to try it out. My wife had a very good broiled Parmesan encrusted filet of sole and I ordered a "fresh" grilled Halibut with mango salsa topping. The Halibut arrived somewhat shredded (I guess by the grill - not sure really) and wow was it a small piece. I had high hope for McCormick & Schmick's "fresh" Halibut but instead received a unattractive flavorless thin slab of white fish. Server was very friendly but never refilled our wine glasses?? We talked with our friends about our McCormick & Schmick's dinner and their response was "why did you eat there?" well we expected something better - oh well. We will not eat at McCormick & Schmick's Reston again. The $140 dinner tab was not anywhere near worth the expense. Bon Apetit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DfHRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistantly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We can always count on McC&Schmick's for an excellent dinning experience with good service. The menu changes to a large extent daily which allows for a lot of variety. These days we go to the Reston location. It is a great place to take out-of-town guests. If you sit in the tables in the main dinning area it is a bit noisy and hard to hold a conversation but the "private" rooms are nice and a booth cuts down on the dinning noise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Reston staple.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everything is very reliable here. There is usually good service, though this can be slow if it's very busy...which it usually is. The food is decent, the atmosphere is decent. It's overpriced...but hey, this is Reston. This is not fine dining, just sort of overpriced upscale pub food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing