We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gyro Salad”
Review of Reston Kabob - CLOSED

Reston Kabob
Restaurant details
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Gyro Salad”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I go to this place a couple of times a month for a gyro salad. We share one and love it. This is a simple place next to the 7 11. Walk up, place your order, sit, and wait a few moments. The gyro meat is good. I like the sauces they have on the table. This is a simple but good meal and we will return often.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gyro to die for and an addictive spicy sauce to boot...”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I like kabob. My wife loves gyros. And we love all kinds of exotic foods.

So it was a bit of a shock when our very friendly, white, middle class American neighbors told us about Reston kabob and their reputation for "best gyro in Reston / Herndon area". So of course, we had to try it out. Our first time was about a month ago...and I have been back about five times since.

Unlike bland gyro meat, RK has a generous portion that looks and smells freshly roasted. Add lettuce, tomatoes, onions on a huge authentic fresh pita wrap. Top with a spicy / tangy sauce that is addictive as hell and you have gyro heaven for $7.99. It's so huge my wife and I can usually split one, but on some days I need to eat one whole to satisfy my craving. All made better by the hole-in-the-wall ambiance.

The only negative for me is the white sauce seems to be mayo based and not yogurt based with dill and cucumber like a good tzatziki sauce. But maybe hat Greek / Turkish (I think RK is Afghani).

In any case, go here at your own peril. You will become addicted. It's that good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daddy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Kabobs in the area!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is very busy for lunch so try to avoid the lunch hour, but this is hands down the best kabob place in the area

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelFan292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My new "Go To Spot" in Reston”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fantastic Kabob and gyro restaurant filled with a continuous line of local customers. This place is family owned and has been around for years. I tried the gyro and I was hooked. I had to come back over and over again. It is within walking distance of the Westin and Sheraton in Reston Heights and just a short drive from Reston Town Centre. Skip the overpriced restaurants in Reston Town Centre and try this local joint. Your taste buds and stomach will thank you!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank aj_travelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Kabobs in Reston”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Its just a hole in the wall shop near a 7-11 - but it always packed at lunchtime and everyone's getting a 'to go' in the evenings. We have been getting take out from here at least twice a month for the last 8 years . . . its great.

Staff are friendly, menu is simple, good portions - its just one of those places the locals know about and go to all the time.

Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reston Kabob also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing