We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“FISHING” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Fairfax Park

Lake Fairfax Park
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bealeton, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“FISHING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

went here several times enjoying the trout fishing program...one thing to watch for if you bring your wife /GF is when you approach the bank there are snakes in the bushes overhanging the water and they drop in the water...it will scare them. I have NEVER been bitten or hissed at in four + years I've been going there..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
350 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Nice choice in the community”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice place to walk, ride the carousel ( very old but kids love it), good local camping spot especially with young children

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ResourceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great family park in Fairfax County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lake Fairfax has everything, boats, camping, hiking trails, plenty of sport fields, carousel, camping and the water park. You can definitely find things to do at this park and it is a wonderful space for those summer picnics etc. The restroom facilities have been updated and I would highly recommend a visit to Lake Fairfax.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaShell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful trails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Rode Turkey Trot ride Sunday afater Thanksgiving. I have to say the runners, bike riders and others on the trail were so sensitive to the horses. They were great.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank chambasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Spacious but trail is not clearly marked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lake Fairfax has a waterpark, and it's great for kids. It also has a campground. I took my dog there several times, and it took me awhile to find the trail, which is not clearly marked. When I found it, it ended behind the campground area, and in order to get back to where I parked, I had to either back track on the trail or walk through the campground to the parking area down this walkway than back to my car. It's not a place for serious hiking.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Marinda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Fairfax Park also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Lake Fairfax Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing