We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Pitango Gelato

Pitango Gelato
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Pitango Gelato creates authentic gelato focusing on classic Italian flavors rather than novelties or trends. Made with grass-fed organic milk and fresh organic fruit and nuts, our products contain no flavorings, no colorings, nor artificial ingredients of any kind. Pitango also takes its coffee very seriously. We use organic, single-estate beans roasted especially for us in small batches by a local boutique roaster.
Reston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great flavors, great service - quick, great place to take a quick seat and eat your cup or cone. Runs the risk of putting the dessert menus of all the RTC restaurants in the dust heap.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The ignorance of pretending”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have made numerous stops at Pitango giving this establishment opportunity to provide a better serf vice and quality products. However mediocrity is rooted in their system. Firstly lets begin with the fact of pretending to be an European style cafe. At least I would suggest proper spelling on the menu of "Italian" inspired products while encouraging the staff to attempt to pronounce them correctly. For example "Marocchino" is spelled with one "r". The service is appalling, you have to be on line no matter what you are requesting. Yesterday we were on line for at least ten minutes just because in front of us there were two families with multiple children which could not decide what flavor ice-cream to take and the parents playing the game of sampling. Like us, few customers which simply wanted to have a coffee or a cappuccino just left frustrated. Adding salt to the injury was the lack of attentiveness of the staff. Which were more concerned with their mobile phone then the Customers. How about having the children being seated on the counter were customers are retrieving their orders. One of them knocked down the attack of stirofoam cups which were restocked, not replaced. The "Marocchino" beverages we ordered were simply awful. A simple mixture of coffee and chocolate was turned into an undrinkable espresso type tasting like burned coffee blend. The place is not kept clean at all and often cups or previous customers are left on tables making impossible for other to sit. Do it yourself with ample use of paper napkins to clean the tables is often the way to go. The claim of great natural products and environmental sensitivity is blown out of the window when they use stirofoam cups to serve the beverages. The ice cream is mediocre but not bad. A long way of being a gelato. In short if you wish a good cup of coffee without pretending to be in a place that is not Starbucks is across the street. For a gelato take your chances at Pitango you may get lucky.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Gelato”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This Gelato is organic and tastes great. They have a variety that they make fresh every day. The only thing is it is expensive at over $5 for a small size.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicdisplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum yum cool refresher”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a nice dinner at a nearby restaurant and rather than order dessert there, we walked around the block to Pitango Gelato. Great selections and hard to decide, but our group tried Pistachio and Cardamom. The latter was very delicious, would have enjoyed that selection rather than Pistachio!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mauna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S. expats
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I am spoiled. I admit it. Having eaten fab gelato while wandering all over Italy, that is my gold standard.

Pitango was...OK. But the prices were higher. I was disappointed in the Straciatella, which is billed not by that name, but by "Vanilla and Chocolate Chunk." Or some such. Instead of the hard, dark chocolate chunks I was expecting, it seemed to be pulverized chocolate with a few bits. It looked like gelato with a bad case of freckles. The vanilla taste was lackluster at best.

Portions are large. Too large, IMHO.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitango Gelato also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Pitango Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing