We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gelato!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pitango Gelato

Pitango Gelato
11942 Democracy Drive, Reston, VA 20190
703-606-9906
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pitango Gelato creates authentic gelato focusing on classic Italian flavors rather than novelties or trends. Made with grass-fed organic milk and fresh organic fruit and nuts, our products contain no flavorings, no colorings, nor artificial ingredients of any kind. Pitango also takes its coffee very seriously. We use organic, single-estate beans roasted especially for us in small batches by a local boutique roaster.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great gelato!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been here a few times and really enjoy their gelato. At first, the portions don't look too big, but the flavors are so good and rich that the portions end up being perfect. It's a little pricy, but with the quality of the gelato I think it's worth it.

In the summer, there isn't a lot of seating inside the restaurant, but there is a lot of outdoor space. Long lines are common in the summer, but they move quickly!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladymacb29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Your Taste buds don't want to miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter lived in Italy for 9 months, and she says this is the best Gelato she has ever had in the states. I say it is the best I have ever had. They have an amazing assortment of flavors, dark chocolate orange and fresh raspberry was my favorite combination. This is a wonderful place to sit and rest your feet, they even provide a selection of magazines to look at. It is bright and comfortable, and obviously appreciated as a gathering place. Really wish I had one of these close to my house, although my diet probably is thankful we don't. If you are ever in the area check it out. I doubt you will be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Waystogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Yummy by pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It has a good selectioni of Gelato. For a scoop, it's like $5. A little too pricey for me to visit regularly.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marinda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Best gelato I have had since I was in Italy! The young people in our group also loved the sorbet. I will be back for more.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn60726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Ridge, VA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Gelatos but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love gelatos and had not found a good place to eat them in the Washington DC area until I found Pitango.

The gelatos are creamy and very tasty. I had the Passion Fruit with Spicy Chocolate gelatos. Both were exquisite. My only complaint is the small portion you get for the money you pay. In Italy I would pay 2 Euros (about $2.70) for double the amount of what you get here.

I will continue to go but not as often as I would like.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VDeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitango Gelato also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Pitango Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing