We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncle Julio's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Julio's

Uncle Julio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Julio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 145 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canton, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uncle Julio's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my experience at Uncle Julio's. I went there with my girlfriend, my best friend, and his girlfriend. We were able to sit outside, which was an added bonus, considering how busy they were. The food was good, and our waiter was magnificent. He was not afraid to sell what was on the menu. He was very knowledgable and was not afraid to give his opinion about the items on the menu, which were very accurate. If we didn't have the waiter we did, the experience would not have been as pleasant, despite being in great company. I would eat here again if given the chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    123
    48
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have eaten here a few times - but Mexican's not really my thing (too gloopy and cheesy for my palate)

However - when I'm in town from UK on business - I make it a point to visit here at least once and have 2 margaritas (not the frozen ones - that give brain freeze) and the chips and salsa they serve for free!!

I sit and chat to folks sitting near me and watch whatever game of football, baseball or basket ball is paying. Life is good

Great vibe

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonandmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a winner. Not anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

It's average. All average. Nothing jumps out here and yet people keep going. Like they go to the Cheesecake Factory. Big giant menus of average food. The chips are good. All else well average. To many other choices in reston

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ripoff Report”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ate here with a group of friends (6 total) a little while ago. I guess the server only cared about upselling us since he was charging us the "optional" 18% gratuity.

First, I ordered the "Beergarita" which was a margarita with a corona on the top. They failed to mention on the menu that it was a 10oz margarita with an 8 oz coronita (The small mini-bottle). I wouldn't have minded the small size if the price reflected it...and it was actually feasible to drink. The 10 oz glass was so small I had a hard time fitting the straw around the bottle.

Then I ordered a premium margarita which for 11 dollars I would like to at least be able to taste tequila in it. Since our server was no where to be found (Again, most likely because he knew was going to get a tip anyways), I went to the bar and asked the bartender to top it off. She was very rude when refusing and told me to back and talk to our server. Server finally came around and then had another one remade (20-25 minutes from when he first dropped the drink off). Not much of a difference in tequila taste. What's worse is that he charged me for 2 of these even though he taken the first one and I had to argue with him on the bill about the other drink. Eventually he adjusted it.

My friend had ordered the queso dip and then another one but didn't know it was the 8 or 9 dollar queso dip (apparantly they have small and large sizes). The server flat out lied to my friend and said "I asked you large or small and you said large" which was not true, he only asked if he wanted the queso dip. He refused to adjust his bill at all.

We made our issues clear with management and they were very unresponsive, simply stating that we were being billed for what we consumed. (the queso dips included). Very bad experience spending $200+ as a group. for a few drinks each and a couple of entrees.

I could go on about how their food is just average americanized mexican food, but their overpriced drinks and rude staff and management made me never step foot inside one of these ever again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

A frequent stop for my family. We think it is the best for Mexican food in the area. We love it. Good food and drinks in a family oriented atmosphere. Can be noisy. May have to wait at the busy times for a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JR115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Julio's also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Uncle Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing