We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great upscale Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Julio's

Uncle Julio's
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Julio's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 145 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great upscale Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my first, but not last time at Uncle Julio's. My sister & her family love this place, but since I don't live in this area, I have never been here.
They said the queso dip was recommended and I'd add don't miss! I love their super thin tortilla chips and black bean salsa.
Guacamole doesn't have enough avocado in it, but there are nice big pieces versus a mousse. The only other negative is their frozen Margarita seemed to be watered down & lacking some in flavor.
I had the pulled chicken quesadillas and they were excellent, huge portion and the best I've had. Great price for the portion size.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crazydukefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    122
    48
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

They serve he salsa warm, not appealing to me, but it was tasty. I got the beef salad and honestly was one of the best salads I ever eaten. It was huge, easily shared amongst two. The guacamole was extremely good, but expensive for he portion. This is a trendy, packed place so expect a lot of noise. If you want quiet, they do have outdoor eating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tjeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good service....wonderful Mexican food! All of us (8) liked what we ordered. Home made tortillas that you can see cooking in their custom tortilla maker...interesting oven.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAdives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“basic mexican food, but fast courteous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Uncle Julio's provides the consistent, ok quality which you find in chain restaurants. It will never blow your socks off but it will also not disappoint. It's always nice to be able to get in and get out quickly. This is a noisy restaurant, however, so if you are wanting to read or talk you may want to go elsewhere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank newyorkbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

True tex-mex in VA. First test: the chips and salsa are always great! Thin and crispy chips...salsa that has a bit of a kick, but not too much. The fajita grilled meats are very good...juicy and flavorful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cici_sleestak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Julio's also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to Uncle Julio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing