We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many choices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Counter

The Counter
Ranked #17 of 144 Restaurants in Reston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So many choices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you cannot make up your mind what to have, this is NOT the place for you. They have everything you can imagine in the way of "burgers," and it is all delicious. Their fries are excellent, tried the sweet potato fries and they are as good as their regular fries. They have a great selection of beer on tap and in bottles. Next visit I plan to try the fried pickles and maybe a milkshake!
My only complaint is that it is a bit too noisy (the music) and as a result it was a bit difficult to talk even seated right next to each other.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    58
    18
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The greatest place to eat a burger. You can customize your order or just pick one from the menu. Try the Parmesan fries, the order come with more than enough to share that's for sure. Ask for Ashley,she will take great care of you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGRTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

fill out a card for any and all menu choices - you can have your dinner or lunch in 5000 different combinations, custom tailored to youtr liking

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eracerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK, but not worth the premium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sat outside for a burger, shake and fries at dinner time. Shake was asked for extra thick, came extra watery -- asked them to remake it, which they did, and it was a lot better.

Burger was supposed to be pink inside (their description), and it was well done, and partially burned on one side. Fries were good. Just wasn't what I was expecting. I grade it on a curve, where the Burger Lounge in San Diego is the best, and this was just barely average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AirMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Goes way beyond a burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Love this place! I'm not a huge burger person, so I didn't rush to this restaurant. When I finally relented and went with my son, I was amazed. First you select your meat - different sizes of beef, turkey and bison. You also choose between a bun or a bowl. Even the bowl has choices of different lettuce beds. Then you start dressing things up: different cheeses, loads of other toppings, and a vast array of sauces. One of my favorite parts is the fries on the side. You can get regular yummy fries or sweet potatoe fries. You can order a fifty-fifty if you can't decide! There is a full bar, and take-out orders can be placed online. Hmmm...writing this has given me a craving...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Counter also viewed

Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
 
Reston, Fairfax County
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Counter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing