We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Chef quality meals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PassionFish

PassionFish
Reserve with OpenTable
PassionFish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 145 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Gluten Free Options, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Explorer Street
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chef quality meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Preparation is top notch. Food content is top notch. Presentation is top notch. Today's special of scallops and goat cheese ravioli was very tasty, though was served in a Dutch-Oven-like pan that could and should have been preheated prior to dishing the prepared food into it. Got cold too quickly and did not need to be so. Have previously eaten sushi which they prepare very well...sushi is a reason to dine there.
Service staff is proper and attendant to customer needs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CtheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    145
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Appealing Aesthestically...but Quality is Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It would be okay but honestly have had food served in chipped dishes or broken cracked glassware - twice! And the waiter or manager who came by could care less...they just were like "Next Victims!" The caesar salad is tasty and so is the crab chowder but your server will disappear for 1/2 hour and you think to yourself - should we just leave now?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NancyRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Va
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“For a different crowd than I”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I guess I'm just not into hip, fishy, cool food, because I didn't really find my passion for this fish. The appetizers during happy hour were good, but hey, they're appetizers. The prices for meals are noticeable. I will give it another try, but it's not the kind of place that draws me in, like an american fare, mexican, or italian restaurant. I think it is a niche.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GetOutAndGoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect meal and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

In 1 word: Fantastic
In 2 words: Go There
In 3 words: O M G

Loved it , loved it. The food was exquisite--the flavor, texture, freshness, seasoning just perfect. The server we had could not have been better. Attentive yet not obstrusive. Thanks for perfect night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VA20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great service and better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

While pricey this is a place you want to go if you love well prepared seafood. The staff is terrific, the place is open and airy and the food is to die for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PassionFish also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to PassionFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing