We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef quality meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PassionFish

PassionFish
Reserve with OpenTable
PassionFish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 148 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Explorer Street
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chef quality meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Preparation is top notch. Food content is top notch. Presentation is top notch. Today's special of scallops and goat cheese ravioli was very tasty, though was served in a Dutch-Oven-like pan that could and should have been preheated prior to dishing the prepared food into it. Got cold too quickly and did not need to be so. Have previously eaten sushi which they prepare very well...sushi is a reason to dine there.
Service staff is proper and attendant to customer needs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    164
    52
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Appealing Aesthestically...but Quality is Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

It would be okay but honestly have had food served in chipped dishes or broken cracked glassware - twice! And the waiter or manager who came by could care less...they just were like "Next Victims!" The caesar salad is tasty and so is the crab chowder but your server will disappear for 1/2 hour and you think to yourself - should we just leave now?

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank YourTrustedTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Va
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“For a different crowd than I”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I guess I'm just not into hip, fishy, cool food, because I didn't really find my passion for this fish. The appetizers during happy hour were good, but hey, they're appetizers. The prices for meals are noticeable. I will give it another try, but it's not the kind of place that draws me in, like an american fare, mexican, or italian restaurant. I think it is a niche.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GetOutAndGoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect meal and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

In 1 word: Fantastic
In 2 words: Go There
In 3 words: O M G

Loved it , loved it. The food was exquisite--the flavor, texture, freshness, seasoning just perfect. The server we had could not have been better. Attentive yet not obstrusive. Thanks for perfect night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VA20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great service and better food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

While pricey this is a place you want to go if you love well prepared seafood. The staff is terrific, the place is open and airy and the food is to die for.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PassionFish also viewed

 
Reston, Fairfax County
 

Been to PassionFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing