We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Decor, Inconsistent Food Quality”
Review of PassionFish

PassionFish
Reserve with OpenTable
PassionFish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Explorer Street
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Upscale Decor, Inconsistent Food Quality”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

PassionFish is a trendy restaurant with a nice bar, appealing modern decor and large tables that are not pushed close to one another so that waitstaff is not brushing against you. Although there was a holiday party upstairs, the main floor was quiet enough for conversation.

Service from staff was very attentive and friendly.
The appetizer selections of shrimp, peruvian ceviche, lobster bisque and a sushi roll were all excellent.
The main course of grilled swordfish was overlooked as was the flounder. We did not attempt to return our meals but I was confident that doing so would not have been an issue.

I liked the ambiance so much that I would return to PassionFish for another try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    171
    53
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great place for a nice night out”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I found this place on tripadvisor when looking for a good place out for dinner one night. Had no idea what to expect, but were very nicely surprised! Amazing fish selection and a great wine list. Our waiter was very attentive, but not pushy so we felt really well taken care of. Yes, you pay a bit more than in some other restaurants, but the cost has clearly been lovingly invested into this restaurant. Top notch meal (I had the ciopinno, SO good!) with very "tounge in cheek" decor (even the salt and pepper shakers were fish themed!) coming together in a lovely night out. We'll definately be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is very nice on the inside. The food we received was also very good. Unfortunately, the service was quite awful. Now, I don't know if this was just an isolated incident or if it was widespread, but the woman was absolutely horrible. We went there at 8:00 PM on a Sunday night and she didn't know what the specials were, didn't know what oysters they had available, and seemed like she had better things to do. I will give this place another try because the food wasn't half bad, but it won't be for awhile.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a surprise. Very good for lunch.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stopped in for lunch not knowing what to expect. Upscale place, but there are lighter fare options. I had the lunch sized crab cakes. Tasted very fresh, served with fabulous sweet-potato fries. The price was high for a typical lunch, but I didn't feel it was over priced.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jazzy6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went for a birthday dinner and had a fantastic meal with excellent service. Waiter was very attentive without being overbearing. Had the macadamia encrusted halibut and the branzino -- excellent!! Sat upstairs in a smaller, quieter dining room but was still open to restaurant below. Went on a Sunday so wine bottles were half price. Gave us a complementary dessert for the birthday guest. Will return!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PassionFish also viewed

 
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 

Been to PassionFish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing