We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel and town, not fit for D.C. visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Reston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Reston
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel and town, not fit for D.C. visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great hotel, service and facilities. The small town of Reston is a nice planned community and has nice shops and restaurants at walking distance.
Also, 10 minutes walk away there is a large and excellent grocery store and office store.
Never had breakfast in the hotel bar, but the in-place PaneraBread business is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Markeri,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Good to hear that our location proved to be convenient for you.

It is our hope that you choose us again during your next visit.

Buon Viaggio,

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    328
    83
    35
    20
See reviews for
149
129
43
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I call this kind of hotels "squeezers". The room per rate is already high yet they charge for internet and parking. They want to squeeze everything out of you. Well at least the business center was free. Meh, not coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mur_Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Saad Y,

Thank you for submitting a review for our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not find our hotel to be of value. As the Best in Class hotel in the Dulles corridor, I agree with you that we are not the most economical hotel option in our area. Thousand of customers choose us annually due to our superior location, facilities, and authentic service.

Your business is appreciated.

Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The price is really what holds me back from a higher rating-- I just expect more from a place that is able to charge what they do.

Bathrooms are dated-- to shower you have to step over an old style tub . Room was comfortable--but not outstanding.Amenities remind me of what you would see at a much lower end property.

Staff was friendly- lobby is nice with a bar area and a Panera connected for a sandwich or coffee.

The two things that stand out-- are location from Dulles and being within the Reston Town Center--- many bars,restaurants,shopping,stores within walking distance.

I don't think I would pay the price again--or at the very least I would look some more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Randy N,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you did not find our property to be of fair value. Good to hear that our location served you well and that our staff provided the service experience you deserved.

It is our hope that you choose us again during a future visit.

Safe travels,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
537 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed for three nights at the Hyatt Regency in Reston, VA while at a business conference. The hotel is located only six miles from Dulles airport and they have a convenient shuttle that runs hourly. My room was acceptable but not as well maintained as I have come to expect from a Hyatt Regency. The hotel is on the edge of Reston Town Center where you can easily walk to restaurants and shopping. I did not drive but there is a parking structure attached to the hotel. Service was friendly and appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear CarpeNox,

Thank you for your favorable review. I am so sorry that your bed presentation was not up to our-and your standard. Rest assured this will be reviewed by our leadership team.

Otherwise, great to ehar that the hotel and its location served you well.

Thank you for your business. And please come & visit us again during your next stay.

Regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was every bit 4.5 stars. It is a bit pricey, but the customer service, actual accommodations, lobby, shopping, location to AMAZING restaurants, airport, DC, and basically EVERYTHING, makes this a total winner. We received a special rate of $189 for a conference we attended, but the front end staff was kind enough to extend that rate to the two nights following after our conference. The workout facility was topnotch!

The only thing that I could ask for improvement on were the pool hours as it was only open in the evenings and as an indoor pool used a TREMENDOUS amount of chlorine that permeated every breath you took. Also, the breakfsat was VERY good but quite expensive (Buffet and a water was $25).

I would definitely stay here again if the price was right!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maczuga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear maczuga1,

Thank you for your favorable review of our property. Great to hear that you enjoyed your experience.

I sincerely apologize for your poor experience in our pool. Rest assured that I will review this with our operations department.

Your business is much appreciated. Please come back & see us again soon.

Regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Inconsistent maintenance and service, w/ a lack of follow-through in this business travel oriented hotel. Spacious well-decorated rooms, w well stocked amenities, but service is slow and inconsistent. Poor supervision & inadequately stocked self-service business center w/ ridiculously over-priced copy and Internet service;poor WIFI service throughout. Found banquet servers to be responsive and courteous...food was ok. Hotel located at end of a very walkable shopping area w/ many & varied restaurants. Weekends very busy w/ planned activities that bring in the crowds... Maker dinner reservations on fri & sat wherever you plan to dine. Very convenient to Dulles airport & much better value than other large hotel chains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear travprof (virginia),

Thank you for taking the tiem to review our property. I am sorry that we failed to meet some of your needs. Both our wifi program and business center facility are under review. We strive to provide the best possible experience to all our guests.

Great to hear that our property's location served you well.

Your candid feedback and your business are both both appreciated. Hopefully you will choose us again when traveling to these parts.

Regards and safe travels,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I rarely have a bad word to say about a Hyatt Regency as they are regarded normally as Class "A" properties, but our experience in Reston VA was quite unusual. Let's start with no one on staff smiled. That set the tone. The food was awfull including finding a hair in my salad at lunch one day. While our room was spacious, housekeeping did not do a great job of cleaning it. We requested additional towels on evening and it took over an hour. We were at a conference, and most of the food was cold. At the awards dinner, there were cooffe cups on the table and no one was around to serve coffee. When we tried to visit with a manager about all of the above, none was willing to meet with us. Needless to say, this is not the kind of review I like to write, but unfortunately either the hotel was in a funk or this is just a property that is poorly managed.

Room Tip: See if they ahve changed managment since our trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryZoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear BarryZoob,

Please accept my regret over your poor experience, which sounds inexcusable. The service you describe is not consistent with the such that hundreds of our guests enjoy at our property daily.

Rest assured that your comments will be shared with our managing committe.

Should you decide to visit us again, please let me kow and I'll make sure your are well served.

Once again, and on behalf of our staff, we apologize.

Thanks you for your business. And I hope you do give us a chance to show you that the service you describe was an aberration.

Sincerely,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
0.6 mi away
Westin Reston Heights
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Reston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Reston

Property: Hyatt Regency Reston
Address: 1800 Presidents St, Reston, VA 20190-5691
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Reston 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four diamond property located in the heart of Reston Town Center. 2004 $8.2 Million dollar guestroom renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Reston Hotel Reston
Reston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Reston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing