We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Reston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Reston Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The breakfast buffet is $18. There is no indoor pool or jacuzzi. The exercise room is small but functional, but without a place to dress or shower it requires walking through the lobby in your sweat clothes. The hallways are worn and in some areas close to being shabby. But the worst from a business perspective is that the internet is so slow as to be unusable - and costs $13 a day. The internet is plug-in (Ethernet) only -- not wireless, so I am tethered to the desk just like at work and my I-devices can't use it. If you are a Starwood preferred guest member then the hotel will give you the internet free. It is still not worth it! On the plus side, they have a shuttle from Dulles airport and the bed is nice. I have heard the Westin (also Starwood) across the street is much more modern and has better amenities, but my conference rate applied here.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rockyjoe_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    155
    89
    42
    19
See reviews for
75
51
32
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We checked into this hotel at around 10p on Sunday night as we had an early morning flight out of Dulles. There was a Westin in the back that I should have chosen but the Sheraton was so cheap for one night I couldn’t resist. The customer service, appearance, rooms and amenities are all just blah. Our room was barely clean and smelled like smoke. The rug (both in the hallway and in the room) hadn’t been vacuumed in ages and the stale cupcakes by the elevator were more revolting than inviting. The best part about this hotel was the free shuttle that took us to the airport in the morning. Bottom Line: this is on the level of a motel - good for one night sleep passing though.

Room Tip: "If you plan on using the 24 shuttle before 6a make sure you inform the front desk"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel shuttle bus picked us up at IAD at 2:30 a.m. The bus was nice and roomy and the six mile trip from the airport to the hotel was an easy drive.

The outside of the hotel is more impressive than the inside of the hotel. The lobby is quite small but efficient. Once you enter the lobby, the front desk is to the left. We had no problems at check-in and were given our instructions to the elevators. We were given a room on the third floor. It was a short walk to the elevators past the restaurant and banquet meeting rooms. Everything was still going ok at 3:00 a.m. until we exited from the elevators.

The musky smell was a pit overpowering. We were immediately disappointed with this choice. The room was equally smelling of a musky, unpleasant smell. However, we were very tired and went to bed. The heat / a/c worked just fine. The ammenities were typical for a hotel. The shower was very old, very old, very old! This hotel needs updating!

The bed was harder than we like; however, at 3:00 a.m. we were just happy to have a bed. We would NOT choose this hotel again. We passed at least five hotels between the airport and this Sheraton. In the future we would choose one of them.

There are better choices.... use one of them!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel indeed is quite dated and looks very tired. There is a musky smell in the corridors (could be due to the carpets or the ventilation). The club lounge is not restocked consistently, so although it is opened 24hrs, by evening the fridge holding the drinks will be nearly empty.

Pros to the stay are the free shuttle and the hotel's close proximity to Reston Town Centre, The bar serves Samuel Adams which is a favorite of one of my mates and the staff there is quite friendly and engaging as well. Breakfast is boring and not entirely appetizing. Beds were nice and the hotel participates in the "Going Green" program which rewards for efforts to conserve the environment.

Room Tip: There are 2 parking areas. The further one in usually has more free spots and is near the tower bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EngOnAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This Sheraton is a bit tired with bathroom plumbing that could use a major upgrade. Beds were up to Sheraton standards and our room was quiet throughout the night. Strange smell in the hallways - perhaps the carpeting should be replaced.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a typical posh basic airport/city hotel. It has a shuttle, a flight departure board for nearby Dulles airport, and nothing much else. Food is hot, beds are comfortable lifts work but it is just an uninspiring place to pass a night - more would be a chore.
The bathroom has a good shower but the tap comes away from the wall and the presence of a small black crawling creature did not enhance the experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nymca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I decided to take Sheraton up on a deal in which I stay the night before I fly out of Dulles International, and I get to park my car free for up to 10 days in the Sheraton parking lot. Its an absolutely fantastic deal because rather than waking up at 4 in the morning and driving in traffic, I got in the night before at a leisurely pace and took a short shuttle trip to the airport in the morning.

Because my stay was so short, I really didn't explore the hotel much. The front desk was very friendly. The room was big, but I'm not on the same page with the interior designer's tastes - the Soviet Red carpet with straight lines in a curved rooms was a little off-putting. The door stuck as if it was freshly painted. The furniture was new and fresh. At 8:45 the restaurant that was supposed to close at 10 was dark and deserted.

I doubt that I would make this hotel a destination - its sort of a people warehouse. But for the stay and fly deal, it is a must.

Room Tip: The hallways are long - try to get a room closer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
0.2 mi away
Westin Reston Heights
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
Hyatt Regency Reston
#1 of 4 in Reston
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Reston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Reston Hotel

Property: Sheraton Reston Hotel
Address: 11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Reston Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In suburban Virginia, close to many large technology firms, the Sheraton is adjacent to a golf course and 1 mile from the shops and restaurants at Reston Town Center. Complimentary 24-hour airport transportation is provided every 30 minutes to and from Washington Dulles. Also, complimentary daily shuttle service is available within a 2-mile radius, 7 AM-10 PM (subject to availability). Lounge chairs and umbrella tables surround the seasonal outdoor pool, located in a landscaped courtyard. A self-serve business center and complimentary fitness center are accessible 24 hours. The hotel has 18 meeting/conference rooms. A computer station and Internet point are available; wireless Internet access is complimentary in the lobby area. Syrah restaurant offers American fare, the Cosmopolitan Lounge provides a bar menu and pool table, and a 24-hour sundry shop stocks Starbucks coffee and snacks. Dogs, 40 pounds or less, are allowed without surcharges. Complimentary for use during stay is the Sheraton red, white, and blue dog bed. Owners are provided with food, water bowls and temporary ID tags with hotel contact information. A pet waiver must be signed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Starwood and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Reston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Reston
Reston Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing