We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cookie Cutter hotel, but perfect for business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Reston Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westin Reston Heights
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Cookie Cutter hotel, but perfect for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

This is an airport hotel, that really provides luxurious beds and ammenities. Other than that, it is perfectly ordinary. There is really nothing wrong with it, except if you are planning to have a meeting at the hotel. You see this Westin sits right next to a Sheraton hotel, and just 3 miles down the same road sits another Westin right next to another Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    141
    43
    17
    17
See reviews for
85
77
32
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The hotel is new and very clean with modern public spaces and rooms. I stayed in a junior suite on a weekend and was satisfied with the large room and bathroom. I had a prepaid, nonrefundable rate, and it was a good value. On the downside, the hotel is lacking many of the upgrades other Westins have. The service was cordial but not outstanding, there was no water or coffee in the lobby, and I could not get a newspaper in the hotel. I think most Westin hotels are very nice; this one was comfortable but not memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed at the Westin based on the superlative reviews on TA and I was really underwhelmed. The hotel, while new and clean, is perfectly average. I was given a room near the elevator, and the middle of the night bells woke me several times. Very poor soundproofing. Also, when paying $350 for a room, charging $12 per day for Internet is really excessive. I'll stay at the Hyatt next time which also has a far begetter location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoW_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

After being stranded in Washington after all flights to and from the UK were cancelled due to the erupting volcano in Iceland, we were put (by British Airways) in the Westin. From the moment we entered the hotel we realised that our stay here was going to be a pleasent one. The hotel looked and smelled clean, modern and new, and the room was just as nice. The room was large and comfortable as was the bed. The television offered full HD services with a great selection of movies still at cinemas to help keep us entertained whilst awaiting a flight home. The free shuttle from the airport to the hotel was a fantastic service and saved us a lot of money in taxi fares as we continuously tavelled to and fro in an effort to find out information from British Airways and eventually get home.
Most impressive though were the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. If it wasn't for the work of William and John my wife and I would of been sleeping at the airport. This was due to rooms across the city either being fully booked, or charging hundreds of dollars a night as they cashed in on the thousands of stranded passengers. Thankfully this wasn't to be the case for us as the hotel held our room for us and refrained from exploiting us and the situation we were in.
Overal extremely impressed and satisfied with the service and our stay at the Westin and would thoroughly reccommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay outside of DC and close to the airport .i.e. a stopover before flying .Great hotel great staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattlimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
216 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

After a long flight home from Bulgaria, the Westin Reston was the perfect place to sleep and get back into the swing of things before heading back to Philadelphia. So close to Dulles and the Chantilly/Herndon area, this Westin is in a great spot for many types of visits.

We obtained two rooms through priceline and the front desk was very accomodating about getting adjoining rooms. While the pool is only open in the evenings, everything else about the hotel was top notch, from the bedding (of course, heavenly) to the breakfast in the morning at the main restuarant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

As always, the Westin does not disappoint. We enjoyed our stay here with 2 small kids and 2 small dogs. The property is immaculate and has a great mid-way location on route to North Carolina from NYC.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OpinionsGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Our daughter lives in the area and this is our hotel of choice for every visit. Close to the airport, close to the Reston Town Center (a great little area for shopping, dinner, movies, etc). The rooms are immaculate and spacious, and the heavenly bed is exactly that. The staff is very helpful, friendly, and professional. We always look forward to staying here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Reston Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
4.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Herndon Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Reston Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Reston Heights

Property: Westin Reston Heights
Address: 11750 Sunrise Valley Dr, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Reston Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business or leisure, The Westin Reston Heights is a blend of comfort and sophistication moments from Dulles International Airport and a short cab ride from our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Westin Reston Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Reston Heights Hotel Reston
Reston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing