We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Reston Heights
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Certificate of Excellence
Middletown, MD
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I got a good rate for this so-called 4 star Hotel for a new years eve getaway with wife and son but still I was disappointed. Staff was friendly enough and lobby was fine.. However the rooms were definitely lacking. Carpet was dingy gray, dated, and filthy.. We moved the chair to view the TV better and beneath it was fish crackers, dust, and what looked like toe nails (gross!). We demanded another room and were given one but it was not much better. Another thing is we saw several other guests walking dogs in th lobby and halls.. really? .. 4 stars with large dogs sleeping in the rooms! My son has moderate allergies so we didn't need this nor expect it from a 4 star hotel.. Again nice people but rooms are dated and dirty.. and they must reverse their liberal dog-friendly policy which obviously lowers the overall level of cleanliness of the property.. Sure I like dogs but I would never bring one to stay in my room in a fancy hotel.. I expect same courtesy from others..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gauthp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Front Office Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Gauthp,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your most recent stay with us. Our guest feedback is a gift to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention.
I sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your stay. At Westin we know that a pet can be another member of the family, so we welcome dogs under 40 lbs to stay with their owner's in a pet friendly room. This courtesy should never impact the experience of our other loyal guests.
Please accept my apologies for the cleanliness issues you addressed during your time spent with us. We take issues such as these very seriously, I have notified our team and will be taking action to make sure this does not happen for other guests.

Be well,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    147
    45
    20
    21
See reviews for
91
81
33
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a meeting in October and it was very nice. The bed was comfy, the staff was nice, and the fireplaces outside the restaurant are great. Breakfast was good, although service was a little slow. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audiogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I had such an enjoyable stay in this hotel. The staff was accommodating. The room was extremely comfortable, clean, and modern. The bed was soft and cozy. The location was nice - close to several large shopping areas and good restaurants. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetravelingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for a night as we tought it would be a good pick as it was supposed to be close to the airport.

In fact it is away from everything and you need to take a shuttle that is supposed to run every 30 minutes. Unfortunately we waited for one and half for the shuttle until we decided to get a taxi because all the shuttle were used to transport the people attending to a wedding. It is a shame to behave like this and not provide any information.


Last but not least as there are nowhere you can go out for dinner you have to eat at the hotel where the price are absolutely crazy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remi92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Front Office Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Remi75102,
I am sorry to hear you waited so long for our shuttle without any communication, this is a courtesy service for our guests convenience and I sincerely apologize you were made to wait.
Our complex is not only home to the award winning Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro but Syrah Restaurant and Cosmopolitan Lounge located at the Sheraton Reston next door. These venues offer a more casual environment to help satisfy many different tastes.
We are also located right across the Dulles Toll Road from Reston Town Center which boasts 50 retail shops, 30 restaurants, and a newly renovated movie theatre.
I hope you give us the opportunity to return to Reston and let our fantastic staff ensure you enjoy all that the area has to offer.
Be well,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend. Great location, beautiful lobby. The rooms are starting to show their age. I bumped the assist bar in the bathtub and rust fell into the tub and all over the floor. I hope they have a refurbishment plan in place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Jzwnv6,
Thank you for choosing to spend your Thanksgiving holiday with the Westin Reston Heights! I am glad to hear that the lobby and hotel surroundings met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding the conditions of your room and consider it a gift. I'm happy to say that we are always working to keep our looking new. I hope that you will choose us when staying in Reston again so we can provide you with an experience to be expected at the newest hotel in Reston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived late at Dulles airport but happy the complimentary shuttle could still pick us up at midnight. The room was nicely stocked with excellent toiletries and coffeemaker. In the morning, we could use the business center to print out our boarding passes for our next flight. Very nice front desk staff.

Room Tip: To catch the shuttle, go out door 6 and level 2. The hotel room says 2H but best to go out door 2 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasFashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife, son and I were planning on visiting Washington, D.C. to visit colleges. A few days before we headed out, our plans changed, but we had made plans to visit a family member in Fairfax, Va.

I canceled our hotel reservation in Washington and went to SPG.com to find a nice hotel near Fairfax. The Westin looked nice, close to a highway and less than 30 minutes from Fairfax. It also offered a AAA rate that I thought was reasonable and, unlike Washington hotels, offered free parking.

We drove there from New Jersey and found the hotel very easily, as it is located right off of the highway. The parking was easy, the lobby, nicely decorated, but empty. The hotel sits in a multi-use development that includes office buildings, a condo complex, a Sheraton Hotel, and the Westin. It is one of those hotels that is busy during the week, but very quiet on the weekend, unless they are hosting a wedding.

We checked in and were offered a suite (I am SPG Gold), but since we were traveling with a high school senior, he wanted no part of a sofa bed! The room were were assigned was on a top floor and had two queen beds, which worked for us. It was modern, clean, and very much what is expected of a Westin. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and very clean.

After dinner, we went to the bar for a drink. It was quiet, yet very comfortable. It even offered three fire pits with outside seating, which would have been nice if it were a bit warmer outside. The bartender was terrific and the service was great.

Our AAA rate included breakfast for two. We went down to the restaurant and enjoyed a quiet, but well prepared breakfast. The hotel gave us a $13.00 credit for each of two people for the breakfast. The food was very good, the service wonderful, and the selection about what one would expect for a hotel.

The only negative was found was that the staff had no idea about what was offered in the restaurant on a Sunday morning. The bartender told us that they had a great brunch. Before we went to bed on Saturday night we asked the woman at the front desk, "What time is brunch?" and were told that they offered a breakfast and lunch. Based on this we got up about an hour earlier than we would have to have breakfast. We are still not sure if they offer a Sunday brunch!

The hotel is very nice and is very reasonable, at least on a weekend. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. You will not be disappointed with the Westin Reston Heights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the local road instead of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timfromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reston
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Reston
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Reston Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Herndon-Reston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Reston
4.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Hyatt House Herndon
Hyatt House Herndon
#8 of 20 in Herndon
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Reston Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Reston Heights

Property: Westin Reston Heights
Address: 11750 Sunrise Valley Dr, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Reston Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business or leisure, The Westin Reston Heights is a blend of comfort and sophistication moments from Dulles International Airport and a short cab ride from our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Reston Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Reston Heights Hotel Reston
Reston Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing