We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth a return trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Remington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Kelly's Ford
Ranked #1 of 2 Remington B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not worth a return trip”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

My wife and I made a reservation for a room and dinner for a Saturday evening. Since we did not allow much lead time we were not surprised that only one room was available. However, when we arrived we discovered "the Loft" was a dark area over the stables which reeked with all of the attendant aromas you would expect in a horse barn. We left immediately and advised we could not stay in such surroundings and were graciously refunded our deposit.

We agreed to honor our dinner reservation in the main dining room. At the appointed hour we were promptly seated facing a window which probably had a nice view, but since it was dark there was nothing to see. Dinner was a disappointment. The Caesar salad was warm and limp, the entre was fine but nothing to rave about. The dessert; a warm cheesecake totally lacking in taste or character, was inedible. Refrigeration must be in short supply at the Inn at Kelly's Ford.

In addition we were subject to an annoying battle of the bands. The floor vibrated from the music being played in the pub area below and uncomfortably conflicted with the music being played in the main dining room.

The bottom line is: The Inn at Kelly's Ford is not deserving of a return trip.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronfromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    2
    7
    18
See reviews for
15
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

Last weekend my husband and I hosted a Rehearsal Dinner for our son's wedding at The Inn At Kelly's Ford. We reserved the General's Quarters and The Ranch House for our family and out of town guests. We found all accomadations to be perfect. Everything we needed was available and we found the entire staff to be gracious and ready to meet our every need. The setting was serene and beautiful. The General's Quarters definitely takes you back in time.The beds were comfortable and the entire house was spotless and tastefully decorated. Our friends, who stayed in the Ranch House, were equally happy with their accomadations. Several months prior to the event I met with the owner who went out of her way to make sure she was able to accomadate my wishes for the dinner. She and the Event Planner did a wonderful offering suggestions and making sure everything went according to the plan. Arrangements were made to close the restaurant to the public at 8 p.m. because I had fallen in love with beautiful dinning room with the gorgeous view and wanted to have the dinner there. The owner even arranged for a local florist to provide the beautiful flowers for the tables and wreath for entrance to the inn. They took care of every detail, I never had to worry about a single thing. The food was excellent and the presentation was wonderful. We received complements galore from all of the guests at the dinner who were still talking about the dinner the next day at the wedding. We had a fantastic weekend. We are all planning to get together to go back for a more relaxed weekend when we can participate in some of the many activities available. The Inn At Kelly's Ford made our weekend a most memorable one. My family and friends cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. The Inn At Kelly's Ford can easily be described with one word..."PERFECT".

  • Liked — Beautiful views and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpgowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

My wife and I came across this Inn while driving in the country, it was so cute we pulled in the parking lot to check it out. When we got home we booked a long weekend. We left utterly disappointed. Other than the excellent meal in the main restaurant this B&B was poorly run in almost every way, with unhelpful/lazy staff and a belligerent owner. On the surface everything looked fine, but little actually was. When we told the proprietor that we were disappointed he became incredibly rude and abusive, actually calling my wife names. Frankly I have never experienced anything like it. For the record, we travel extensively and have stayed in numerous Inn's and B&B's throughout the US and other countries - The Inn at Kelly's Ford sits at the bottom of our list.

  • Liked — Outward appearance
  • Disliked — hospitality and service
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAtraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

We spent several days at the Inn during August with our two young children, and this is definitely a place for families with horse-loving girls to get away from it all! First, the positives: caring, attentive service, a huge room with a gorgeous view and super-comfortable beds, and a delicious breakfast in a dining room filled with Civil Was historic memorabilia. The Inn was the site of a famous Civil War battle, and attracts its share of Civil War buffs.

But we came for the horses, and the Inn's are sweet and calm. Perfect for our budding equestriennes, The quality of the horseback riding instruction was outstanding (our children rode English hunt seat, but instruction in saddle seat and Western is available), and we parents enjoyed touring the barns and observing the lessons. More experienced riders can bring their own horses, and hiking and canoeing is available as well.

Our gripes with the property were few, but should be mentioned. First, the Inn has been having water quality problems (in the process of being remedied), and we were given bottled water, and told not to drink the tap water. I would have liked to have been informed of this before we arrived. Also, the Inn's dining room is not open on Monday or Tuesday nights -- also something I wish we had known before we arrived. It's a long drive to the surrounding towns for dinner, and we'd heard great things about the chef and food.

Would we visit again? Yes, but I'd want to be sure the water situation is squared away, and I'd visit on Thursday through Sunday to be sure to be able to eat at the restaurant. My daughters are certainly looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank painai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

My husband and I spent two wonderful nights at the Inn for our 8th anniversary and it was absolutely wonderful. The Inn overlooks rolling hills and pastures with grazing horses. We stayed in one of the Inn's cottages and were extremely pleased with the awesome, unobstructed view, the cottages 800 plus square footage, the huge king-sized bed with down pillows and the magnificent bathroom. The Inn’s website does not do the bathroom justice. It’s all marble, separate spacious shower, deep Jacuzzi tub and double sinks is worthy of any 5 star hotel. The food was excellent. The Inn has two dining areas on site a formal dining area and a pub with live music on some nights. Both were amazing. Since we wanted to take advantage of sleeping in, we took advantage of having our breakfast brought to us in our room at the time we selected. The Inn at Kelly’s Ford’s staff was remarkable and addressed all of our needs and requests in a timely and discreet manner. It was obvious that they were there to make our stay pleasant. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2006

My daughter and I spent the weekend in one of their spacious cottages that was well appointed with a great countryside view. We passed on the fine dining and dined in the pub. The food was excellent and we found the staff missed the "details" a couple of times. We took advantage of the equestian center and the trails were first class. My only concern was Saturday night when the vocalist in the pub broke out in the song "Dixie" and half the room stood up and sang.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

This b&b was really great. The cottage was very spacious and beautiful. It had a nice view of a field with horses and cows. The tub was awesome! Very big and romantic. The bed had very nice linens. My only complaint would be that the water was "undrinkable" because there was bacteria found in it when tested (so they provided water bottles) but you weren't supposed to brush your teeth with it--which made me kind of nervous about bathing in it. So, you may want to check if that problem was fixed. The breakfast was not very big, but it was good. You could choose one thing from a list: I got one waffle and a drink. We did the horseback riding and it was okay. My husband and I thought it would be romantic, but we ended up being so far away (his horse was pretty out of shape)we couldn't even talk much. Overall though, I thought the cottage was great and would recommend it to anyone wanting to escape for a night.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remington
13.1 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Culpeper Inn
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#21 of 42 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
18.7 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Kelly's Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Kelly's Ford

Property: Inn at Kelly's Ford
Address: 16589 Edwards Shop Rd, Remington, VA 22734-1877
Location: United States > Virginia > Remington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Remington
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at Kelly´s Ford is your entry to the casual elegance of Virginia´s historic Hunt Country.Located on the historical site of the Kelly´s Ford Civil War Battlefield, the Inn is set on 150 acres, part of a larger 500-acre estate. Join us for the perfect getaway, or plan your wedding or an invigorating company event. All just a short side-trip from Washington, DC.Come year-round to enjoy the rolling hills and flowing Rappahannock River. Steep yourself in the region´s rich heritage. Revitalize your senses... go hiking, camping, horseback riding, biking, swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, tubing or enjoy a round of golf at any one of five nearby courses.Bask in the cordial hospitality offering you or your organization, thoroughly luxurious lodging and fine dining in a casual, elegant setting.Directions:Only one hour from Washington DC, 45 minutes from Washington Dulles Airport, and 8 minutes from Culpeper County Airport .From the Washington Beltway take I-66 West for 20 miles to Exit 43A (Rte. 29). Go south for 26.25 miles on Rte. 29 to Elkwood. Turn left on Kelly´s Ford Road (Rte. 674) and go 5 miles to Edwards Shop Road (Rte. 620), then go 1/2 mile on Edwards Shop Road, where you will find the Inn at Kelly´s Ford on the left. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Kelly`s Ford Hotel Remington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing