We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gables
Nearby Hotels
Ma Margaret's House B&B(Reedville)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Tides Inn(Irvington)
$295
$164
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn and Suites(Piney Point)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Warsaw)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
17
8
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
8
6
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 32 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had a spur of the moment weekend break and spent a wonderful night being taken care of by Barbara. The room was outstanding, excellent location and Barbara's knowledge of the house and history of the area was most interesting and helpful. Breakfast was delightful and we are sorry we were could only stay one night!

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Coach House were great.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPair83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The host and hostess were welcoming and friendly. The cottage they have overlooks the water. We sat in our chairs in the grass out back with wine and cheese and watched the boats and an Osprey that had new chicks. We had a wonderful time. We liked the introductions at breakfast as they gave us a chance to meet other interesting people, and we had our quality and quiet time also. The host and hostess were gracious. Thank you Barbara and Norm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryan015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I wanted to take a weekend trip and visit Tangier Island. We chose to say on the mainland in Reedville after a daytrip out to Tangier, which I'm glad we did. The Gables is an interesting old house (your stay includes a tour of the house) and the location allows for an easy walk to supper and we enjoyed exploring the small town on foot as well as visiting the museum. As other reviewers have said, you actually stay in the carriage house and not in the mansion. That's okay by me as we were right on the water and enjoyed watching the osprey nest. The one drawback I had (and frankly, this is a personal thing and why I tend to avoid B&Bs...), the owner forced everyone to introduce themselves and talk during breakfast (even though we were sitting at two-tops all over the room). It was definitely awkward for me and some of the other guests who just wanted to sip their coffee and talk with their partners!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The room was lovely, breakfast was outstanding and Barbara the hostess in addition to being delightful, was a gold mine of information as well as a most creative cook. But the icing on the cake was the tour of the mansion with Barbara. Be sure to allow time for it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avandegriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We could only stay one night but enjoyed it very much. We loved our room that had a picture window looking out over Cockrell's Creek. It was wonderful to lay in bed and watch the sunrise over the creek as fishing boats motored out for an early catch. Also wonderful was the tasty breakfast followed by a fascinating tour of the mansion. We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueconnor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews