We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with new ownership”
Review of Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reedville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reedville
Mound, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great with new ownership”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Loved our stay at Bay Motel and for sure we will return. New owners were very welcoming and eager to make our stay perfect. Rooms were newly remodeled and wonderfully clean with new carpet, linens, towels, etc.- very nicely done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
11
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Under new ownership and has been completely remodeled inside. Even has a board room where you can host meetings. Talking with the new manager she is making additional changes to improve the accommodations, such as dish TV. It is a great and affordable place to stay when in Reedville.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

i have stayed at bay motel for years ithought petel did a fine job for what he had to work with but i was there 10/13 the room was dirty they didn,t even have toilet paper in bathroom so i am sure they didn,t bother to clean . the next time i go there fishing i will drive the extra miles for another motel the place should be condemed

Room Tip: i couldnt give any advice on getting a good room at bay motel stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are under new management. Would love to have you give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reedville hotels

Churchton, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was in town for a friends wedding just down the street in Reedville, I live 3hrs away so i decided to get a room here since it was close the wedding, I walked into the room and felt very unclean and not happy with the place, I walked back the area with the sink to hang my dress clothes and found pills from a prior guest all over the floor as well as a dead roach. Sheets were non to clean as were the towels. So i went to the local store (10 miles out) and bought sheets, pillows and a towel just to consider staying. I ended up driving 3 hours back home after the wedding. Place was disgusting and and this is coming from a 25 yr old male who has traveled and stayed at some bad hotels on college baseball road trips. But this is by far the only place I didn't feel comfortable sleep in or walking on the floor even with socks on. Just drive back out to real hotel not this place.

Room Tip: stay away find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in 2012. As of June 2014, we are under new management. Please give us another chance when you are back in the Reedville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place seemed ok when we first arrived, but the motel owner was not a reasonable person. When I pulled down my sheets to go to bed, there was a magot on my pillow!! The owner would not allow more than 2 people in the room even if there were 2 double beds in it! There is so fire code stating that one cannot have more than 2 people per room. Hey just wanted us to pay more money when we only wanted one room! So we left and did not even stay there!! Do not stay here, find another hotel in town who will treat you with respect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stefski07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
As of June 2014 we are open under NEW management. Please stop by when you are in Reedville and see what you think of our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived at the Bay Motel after making reservations nearly 3 weeks prior to the visit. We had reserved 2 rooms and after paying for the rooms, getting settled in and going to bed, the owner took it upon himself to make us pay for another room because he only allowed 2 per room. This was about midnight! After telling him that I had paid for the room and the 4 of us were comfortable in two beds, and that we were not going to pay for another room, he called the cops. The police came about 45 minutes later and told us that we had done nothing wrong as there was no law or fire code that didn't allow 4 people in a room with 2 beds. As we got our refund and left the motel, I personally witnessed him making up the beds that we had already laid in for an hour or so for another customer to use.(Gross) Needless to say, we didn't get any sleep that night and fished and all day tournament the next day.
Do yourself a favor and get a nice hotel in Kilmarnock or nearby town even if it costs a few dollars more and a few more miles away. The Bay Motel can advertise as "Northumberland's finest Motel" simply because it is the only one within 10 miles of the area. I found this outdated, rundown motel to be poor in all areas and I will never return.

Room Tip: Chose a room that is not located in this motel at all. Go elsewhere, you will not regret paying a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isaiah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are open under NEW management June 2014. Please give us another look and see what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn NY
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This was the only hotel/motel option when we traveled to the area to visit with family recently. It is a square cinderblock building with about 20 rooms, nothing really around it. Mr. Patel was helpful and clearly doing his best with a very run-down property. At least half the rooms smell like smoke. The overall feeling is dingy and charmless. You can't really tell what's clean since nothing is spotless except the sheets and towels (stained linoleum, cracked shower plastic, old mattress covers, etc). It's true the water pressure was good and water was hot. We moved rooms because of an incident with the room next to ours (motor vehicle accident), and the second room did not have a chain to lock the door. I usually feel safe everywhere, but having only a doorknob lock on a door opening directly to the parking lot, and miles of flat fields beyond, didn't feel so cozy. We left a day early and were glad to check out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dqframey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen A, Manager at Bay Motel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
It is June 2014 and we have a brand NEW look. We also have NEW OWNERS AND NEW MANAGEMENT!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reedville
10.9 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
21.6 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
186 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#2 of 5 in Reedville
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Tides Inn
The Tides Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
564 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
208 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#2 of 2 in Kilmarnock
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Motel

Property: Bay Motel
Address: 18754 Northumberland Hwy, Reedville, VA 22539-3410
Location: United States > Virginia > Reedville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reedville
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owners!! Same Name!! Newly Renovated 2014!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing