We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Margaret's House B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Reedville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My wife and I took a trip to the Northern Neck for bicycling and kayaking. This B&B lives up to the reviews we read. Clean and comfortable room. Great porches. Great breakfast. Nice price. Modern amenities with a classic feel. We enjoyed the junior suite because it gave us comfortable seating in our room. The area was perfect for our bikes and kayaks.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveDeb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast. If they are all like Ma Margaret's, I will make bed and breakfasts part of all my travel plans. The innkeepers took care of me of from the time I arrived until the time I departed--very important for a single traveler. Both days I was served a big country breakfast. The inn was very clean, the beds were comfortable--just like home. The innkeepers made suggestions about things to explore, places to eat and checked each day to see how I emjoyed the day's events. There were ample shops to explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are reasonably priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreambig414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I took advantage of early spring weather to take a weekend trip to the Northern Neck. I had my eye on this B&B, based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed!

The inn is located off the highway in a very quiet area...just the location if you're trying to get away from the noise of the city. The rooms are very well appointed...everything I needed was at hand.

The hospitality was great, as was the breakfast in the morning.

I stayed in the Ma Margaret's Junior Suite, which was perfect for one, and would have been great for two.

I'm looking forward to returning, once the ferries to the islands are up and running for the season.

I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We loved the feeling of home. The accomodations were like sleeping in our very own bed. The fresh well water was such a delight that taking a shower was so much more soothing than taking one in our home in CA. Breakfast was stupendous; courteous, warm and timely service with a menu that knocked our socks off every morning. The atmosphere was so calming as well. At times we felt like we were in a movie. Just simply the best!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjlacurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Ma Margaret's House while visiting Reedville, Va. The house is absolutely gorgeous. Alva & Cynthia provided us with great hospitality and we thoroughly enjoyed the large, country breakfast! DE-LISH! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs_Heiberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Outstanding Customer Service, Outstanding accommodations, Great Atmosphere and the food was absolutely delicious! We can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yerb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Very friendly and comfortable place to stay. We stayed the night before going over to Tangier Island for the day and it was really convenient. An easy drive to Reedville for dinner and a pleasant stroll along the main street.
Great breakfast, comfortable bed and lovely soft towels!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlivingintheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reedville
19.6 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
196 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Kilmarnock Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Gables
The Gables
#3 of 5 in Reedville
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Hope and Glory Inn
Hope and Glory Inn
#1 of 1 in Irvington
220 reviews
12.1 mi away
Kilmarnock Inn
Kilmarnock Inn
#1 of 2 in Kilmarnock
126 reviews
13.7 mi away
Flowering Fields B&B
Flowering Fields B&B
#1 of 2 in White Stone
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Margaret's House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Margaret's House B&B

Address: 249 Greenfield Road, Reedville, VA 22539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Reedville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Reedville
Price Range: $104 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Margaret's House Bed and Breakfast is a lovingly returned grandmother's house expanded to meet the needs of the twenty-first century. Today, it is opened to the public and avails to its visitors the same generous hospitality that family members have cherished for years.There are five beautifully decorated and spacious bedrooms, private baths, full southern style country breakfast, WI-FI, refrigerators and microwaves, private massage therapist, country vistas, and more.Take a cruise to one of the Chesapeake Bay Islands, book Tee time at the areas most promient golf course, or fish the bountiful waters with a charter Captain.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ma Margaret's House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing