We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent diving, staff less so” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Phoenix SCUBA Park and Family Campgrounds

Lake Phoenix SCUBA Park and Family Campgrounds
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Rawlings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Now OPEN owned as Lake Phoenix SCUBA Park & Family Campgrounds. Open by reservation during winter season, see website. SCUBA, snorkeling, swimming, camping, RV sites amd more. Summer hours start 1 May.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent diving, staff less so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a great day of diving at this lake which has great clarity and many underwater sites to explore. We had scheduled three guided dives, because we prefer to dive with a divemaster. Guiding, instruction and divemaster services are provided by Brunswick Scuba and they are terrific. We got top notch service from both Helen, the instructor and Dalelynn who runs the show. Our equipment was transported on a golf cart, so we even didn't have to bother with the logistics of getting from the dive shack to the pavillion.
Keven at the dive shack is over-all not a pleasant person. All our interactions with him before going there and while we were there were unpleasant. This is a real petty, because the place is wonderful and we had a really good diving experience.
The place was not busy, we were there on a Wednesday in early August, and we certainly didn't find the place crowded. There were no concessions open and we drove out for lunch at a nearby gas station.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Water Training Site on East Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lake Rawlings has the clearest visibility of any site. It is an awesome place for training since it has a multitude of training platforms and more attractions than you can visit with just 4-5 dives.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M0J056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“previous reviews are spot on”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just came back from getting my open water cert there at Lake Rawlings this weekend. I didn't have a chance to check TA before I went, and it's funny now to see how much of the previous reviews I agree with. The staff are ridiculously rude for no apparent reason. There seem to always be problems with both gates getting in and out. We paid $45 a night to camp in our RV, with no water hookups, unkept camp sites, and nonexistent wifi (which was advertised at the dive shack). Having to pay for the showers in the filthy bath house when the camp sites do not provide water hookups is a strange scam. The path down to the a access point on the lack is treacherous with jagged rocks and gravel. Bring provisions with you, as the nearest Walmart is 20+ miles away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jtwo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place once you get by the gate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a very nice place once you get by the people at the gate who have no personality at all. That is the only thing that i could find wrong with the place. We camped there and was able to walk to the access area. Bring a small wagon or cart to make it easier as some of the sited are a bit of a walk. The water clarity was good when the amount of people was down. There is a lot of training being done there and there are a lot of platforms to do that on. For the experienced diver there are a lot of things to see there. A school bus, black hawk helicopter, several cars, a van and several boats and many other sites to see underwater. The max dept is 67 feet and there thermocline was at about 25ft in May. The water temp was 60+ at the surface and about 50 below the thermocline. One thing I found odd was to take a shower it is a pay shower. 50 cents to start the shower and 25cents for every extra 80 seconds. Not expensive if you get in and out but something to think of when coming. Bring some quarters along. They have all the facilities to fill your tanks and also rent other gear there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah0263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca SC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A time to relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you haven't experienced this hidden gem on the Virginia - North Carolina border it is time to do so! The team here works hard to provide and outstanding dive experience for all level of divers, come enjoy the water, fish and hidden treasures in the water.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikes351SenecaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Phoenix SCUBA Park and Family Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing