We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$55
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
Sleep Inn & Suites(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$72
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Christiansburg)(Great Value!)
$81
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveler rating
181
135
82
65
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
135
82
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollege townwafflesbusiness centerbreakfast areaoff the highwaywould stay againhot breakfastgreat place to stayindoor poolfitness centerbed was comfortablenice stayfree breakfastsanfordrumotelcereal
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 515 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

June 27, 2012: We stayed at this Hotel as a Group upon check in there was lack
ck of communication at the front desk, the reservations was made for only one night, advance payments were made on some rooms the front desk experienced difficulty reading the computer which appeared to be overwhelmed, one guess double paid. The group did not get placed in a block which we though we were this would have been idea, instead they placed a handicap on 2nd floor; it appeared they was making us uncomfortable upon checking in, the police were called by the hotel without warning; officer reported no disbrutance & vacated the premises. Of course if it is an event there will be congregating & socializing, a bar is onsite, ash trays outside was available for smoking. The bath tubs was stained & towels are limited, no flat-screens, we kept loosing electric at no time did staff assist or communicate with our group I over heard the staff informing another guess "they are leaving tomorrow", one day the pool was open the excuse given the next day the wind broke glass which flew into the pool & it was closed the rest of our stay, we went to verify broken glass nothing was broken at no time, it was our Group they did not want in the pool. The Bar closes at 11:00 p.m. it closed when we were ther at 10 p.m.Shut down the fitness Room. We did we make any complaints nor was a complaint reported to the Group. As of this date I was informed of the (house rules) no congreating, children must stay in the rooms, no smoking in public places on site, must be in your room by 10 p.m. when an inquiry was made regarding another booking. We are offended by the actions displayed by the Best Western. Im curious how other Groups were treated while staying at this hotel. I am sure not like this (house rules) which should be renamed & these actions displayed was not ethical & these same rules should be given to all guess who check-in here regardless if a group or single shouldnt everyone staying at the Best Western follow these same (house rules)? This Group spent allot of money at this hotel over the weekend to be insulted. There were people of other ethic cultures socializing & gathering with us & they were guess at the hotel. It appears the problem was with the staff based off what I overheard from the staff employee.There is breakfast bar, Bar, conference rooms, lobby area with television & sitting & guess can not congreated in these area? Ash trays outside with seating & can not smoke? Before checking in I would recommend reading these house rules coming from Corporate Office before booking a room! I would not recommend this hotel unless you want to stay in a prision setting. It is my belief this was racial b/c it was an africian american group......Best Western if there is a problem it should have been address at the timE & give these same house to all future guess at booking reservtions at Best Western nation wide.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just1ofthemdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

It is never easy to get less-than-complimentary feedback on a guest's experience at our hotel. However, all feedback is welcomed as it can be used to better train our team and to enable us to achieve a higher level of guest satisfaction. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their stay and sometimes that requires strictly honoring closing time restrictions, smoking only in designated areas and careful supervision of underage guests, often for their own protection, in our public areas (including the pool and fitness room) so that guests already turned in for the night are not disturbed. At times, when concerned about the safety of our guests, particularly children, we may find it necessary to close public amenities earlier than we would like to. We require the same thoughtful consideration of other hotel guests from all of the guests that stay with us. We understand that our indoor pool is a very much appreciated amenity of the hotel and are careful to limit any closures to only those necessary for the safety and care of our guests. Thank you for your feedback and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and I was surprised to find the BW a few miles off the Interstate. We found the motel and were surprised at how nice it was. It looks like it has been refurbished recently. The rooms were clean, and comfortable. and quiet for sleeping. Breakfast was very gooe and for a price of only a bit above $80 for the night. The staff were all VERY friendly and went out of their way to say hello and welcome. The front desk was especially helpful. The Radford Inn was one of the best BW's we have stayed at in the past year. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAMES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for writing such a nice review! We are so glad you found your way to our doorstep. Feedback from our guests is extremely valuable and it is very gratifying to hear how pleased you were with your stay. You are correct that we have recently made upgrades to our hotel as well as the complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We do strive to provide a "squeaky clean" experience for our guests as well as hospitable service. So happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you! We will share your comment with our staff that we are "one of the BW's" you have stayed at in the past year and look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Best Western was very nicely maintained and had a super staff! The room was lovely, updated and very clean. We will definitely stay here again. It's also very convenient/close to Virginia Tech.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review regarding your recent stay at our Best Western Radford. As you noted, the hotel is very convenient to Virginia Tech as well as to Radford University. We are pleased to hear our "super" staff took great care of you during our stay and that you enjoyed your newly updated room. We look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Radford Inn this weekend for a family event. The location is close to campus, so there are lots of restaurants nearby. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly. Even though we chose a non-smoking room, the hallways leading to our room still had that stale smoke smell. Thankfully our room smelled ok. This looks like an older hotel that has recently been updated. Our bathroom was small, but the fixtures looked pretty new. There was an extra sink just outside of our bathroom that looked like it was maybe left over from before the renovation. It looked older and the drain was either rusty or dirty. It was a little odd; not sure why it was there.

But like I said, the room was clean, the sheets and towels were clean. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable ever and the towels were a little thin and scratchy, but it was all fine for a night’s stay.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast, so I can’t comment on Alejandro’s. The breakfast was pretty standard; a waffle station, baked goods, fruit, cereal, bagels, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. The eggs and sausage gravy seemed like they came from a box, but I think this is standard for most chains like this. But it would be really nice to have some freshly made items there, especially since they have a full kitchen capable of producing such things.

The staff happily accommodated our rather large group while we took over the restaurant at breakfast, and later the front lobby while we hung out and chatted before heading our separate ways. And every employee we ran into greeted us with a smile.

If you’re looking at this place from a utilitarian perspective, it has everything you need. (Including free wifi – that was a plus.) If you’re looking at it from a creature comforts perspective, you might be disappointed. But I think most people know what they’re getting themselves into when staying at a place in this price range. I don’t know that I’d stay here again, but I don’t know that I’ll ever have a reason to be in Radford again either.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lori_and_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa O, General Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns. We appreciate any feedback you give us. We hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Radford Best Western has apparently had a change of management. Our most recent stay, Feb. 22, was delightful and the new restaurant is worth a return visit.

The front desk staff was very helpful and cheerful and our room was clean and comfortable. You might need to run the fan on the heating and cooling unit to act as white noise - we could hear muffled snoring next door....but only because it was soooo quiet in our room.

We somehow always manage to hit this area on days when it's pouring rain, so it is really nice to have in-hotel dining. The old Spinnakers restaurant has been replaced by Alejandro's Mexican Grill with an extensive menu and pleasant decor. The fireplace is still there, continuing as a cozy dining spot for a chilly night.

One member of our group had the salmon tacos, which she deemed delicious. She also LOVED the salsa bar. My daughter loved the veggie fajitas - a huge portion! The staff said the skewers were the most popular, so I tried those - beef, chicken and shrimp - but must have hit a bad night because the beef was so tough I couldn't eat it. However, I would give other selections a try next time.
I would recommend that all restaurant staff get a little more practice with English, as we had difficulty getting questions answered. Our waitress was very pleasant, just not able to communicate well.

There are plenty of menu options in the $6 to $12 range.

The complimentary breakfast is typical chain-hotel fare...juice, cereals, pastries, scrambled eggs biscuits with gravy, and a waffle making section.

Parking is plentiful and the staff gives guidance on closest outside door to your room. The hotel is set back from Tyler Ave. so you don't have traffic noise to contend with.

We're happy to put Radford's Best Western back on our list of nice places to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are very happy to be "back on" your list of nice places to stay. We have indeed made some recent staff changes and feel that we have a team in place that truly embraces and epitomizes our "We Love Guests!" company philosophy and our standards of property maintenance. We are also extremely pleased that Alejandro's Mexican Grill is now on site and we have been receiving wonderful feedback from both our guests and local residents on the restaurant. As you noted, nothing like "in-house" dining when inclement weather pays a visit!

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews