We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Radford Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Best Western was very nicely maintained and had a super staff! The room was lovely, updated and very clean. We will definitely stay here again. It's also very convenient/close to Virginia Tech.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review regarding your recent stay at our Best Western Radford. As you noted, the hotel is very convenient to Virginia Tech as well as to Radford University. We are pleased to hear our "super" staff took great care of you during our stay and that you enjoyed your newly updated room. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    76
    56
    47
See reviews for
225
75
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Radford Inn this weekend for a family event. The location is close to campus, so there are lots of restaurants nearby. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly. Even though we chose a non-smoking room, the hallways leading to our room still had that stale smoke smell. Thankfully our room smelled ok. This looks like an older hotel that has recently been updated. Our bathroom was small, but the fixtures looked pretty new. There was an extra sink just outside of our bathroom that looked like it was maybe left over from before the renovation. It looked older and the drain was either rusty or dirty. It was a little odd; not sure why it was there.

But like I said, the room was clean, the sheets and towels were clean. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable ever and the towels were a little thin and scratchy, but it was all fine for a night’s stay.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast, so I can’t comment on Alejandro’s. The breakfast was pretty standard; a waffle station, baked goods, fruit, cereal, bagels, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy. The eggs and sausage gravy seemed like they came from a box, but I think this is standard for most chains like this. But it would be really nice to have some freshly made items there, especially since they have a full kitchen capable of producing such things.

The staff happily accommodated our rather large group while we took over the restaurant at breakfast, and later the front lobby while we hung out and chatted before heading our separate ways. And every employee we ran into greeted us with a smile.

If you’re looking at this place from a utilitarian perspective, it has everything you need. (Including free wifi – that was a plus.) If you’re looking at it from a creature comforts perspective, you might be disappointed. But I think most people know what they’re getting themselves into when staying at a place in this price range. I don’t know that I’d stay here again, but I don’t know that I’ll ever have a reason to be in Radford again either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lori_and_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa O, General Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns. We appreciate any feedback you give us. We hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria,Va
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Radford Best Western has apparently had a change of management. Our most recent stay, Feb. 22, was delightful and the new restaurant is worth a return visit.

The front desk staff was very helpful and cheerful and our room was clean and comfortable. You might need to run the fan on the heating and cooling unit to act as white noise - we could hear muffled snoring next door....but only because it was soooo quiet in our room.

We somehow always manage to hit this area on days when it's pouring rain, so it is really nice to have in-hotel dining. The old Spinnakers restaurant has been replaced by Alejandro's Mexican Grill with an extensive menu and pleasant decor. The fireplace is still there, continuing as a cozy dining spot for a chilly night.

One member of our group had the salmon tacos, which she deemed delicious. She also LOVED the salsa bar. My daughter loved the veggie fajitas - a huge portion! The staff said the skewers were the most popular, so I tried those - beef, chicken and shrimp - but must have hit a bad night because the beef was so tough I couldn't eat it. However, I would give other selections a try next time.
I would recommend that all restaurant staff get a little more practice with English, as we had difficulty getting questions answered. Our waitress was very pleasant, just not able to communicate well.

There are plenty of menu options in the $6 to $12 range.

The complimentary breakfast is typical chain-hotel fare...juice, cereals, pastries, scrambled eggs biscuits with gravy, and a waffle making section.

Parking is plentiful and the staff gives guidance on closest outside door to your room. The hotel is set back from Tyler Ave. so you don't have traffic noise to contend with.

We're happy to put Radford's Best Western back on our list of nice places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are very happy to be "back on" your list of nice places to stay. We have indeed made some recent staff changes and feel that we have a team in place that truly embraces and epitomizes our "We Love Guests!" company philosophy and our standards of property maintenance. We are also extremely pleased that Alejandro's Mexican Grill is now on site and we have been receiving wonderful feedback from both our guests and local residents on the restaurant. As you noted, nothing like "in-house" dining when inclement weather pays a visit!

We appreciate your comments and look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Valley, Va.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Our family went to Radford to celebrate our son's graduation.Our rooms were great and very clean. All of the staff was very friendly and so helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff was always making sure it was full. We ate at Alejandros(the Mexican dinning in the hotel) and was so impressed with the food and service. The salsa bar was a big hit with everyone. We felt very secure and safe in this hotel. Great place to stay and eat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review about your stay at the Best Western Radford during your son's recent graduation. We appreciate your feedback! It is very gratifying to hear that our rooms, staff and amenities including the hot breakfast buffet met your expectations. Your comments confirm the positive feedback we have been hearing from other guests about the brand new Alejandro's Mexican Grill restaurant that recently opened in the hotel. That fresh salsa bar is indeed great, isn't it?

Happy New Year to you and your family and our best wishes to your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Overall a great expirience. The hotel grounds were neat and parking lot was nice and large. Appliances in my room were clean and ran well. Internet signal was strong. My room was cleaned consitenly and throughly each time. I enjoyed the Hotel's breakfast which was large and always fresh, even included a "make your own" waffle station. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Valley VA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

wonderful service for a large group, great food, friendly helpful waiters. Salsa Bar was so very good.

Helpful?
Thank FortValleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Valley VA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We met at Alejandros for my nephew's winter graduation from Radford Uni. there were 17 of us in the group. The restaurant was outstanding. The service was excellent, no mixed up orders, all the food came to the table at one time and none of it was cold. The salsa bar was a big hit, so many choices, it was nice to be able to sample any or all of the flavors. I recommend it to all.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FortValleyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa O, General Manager at Best Western Radford Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2017
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Radford. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
235 reviews
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
245 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
10.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Radford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Radford Inn

Property: Best Western Radford Inn
Address: 1501 Tyler Ave., Radford, VA 24141-5007 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Radford Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Radford Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Radford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Radford Hotel Radford
Radford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing