We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable Italian food for the area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria

Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Radford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
341 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Reasonable Italian food for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

OK, it's not New York, but Sal's serves up reasonable Italian food at almost reasonable prices. I dined here on a business trip to Radford and found it to be a typical Italian American restaurant with all the usual options--pastas, sandwiches, salads, etc. The menu is pretty extensive (check it out on TA), and you can spend a little or a lot depending on your tastes. I ordered the sausage and pepper sandwich, an Italian staple, to test the place out. The sausage could have been a little more Italian, with more seasoning, but it was OK for around $8. I couldn't tell if there was a wine menu or liquor license. My dining partners had salads which seemed OK and a steak sandwich. I wouldn't rave about this place, but given the limited options in Radford, it seemed OK and worth going to. Service was by what appeared to be Radford college students--friendly and generally efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorCompRhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
2 reviews
“Best in Radford!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Sal's offers something Italian for everyone! Great food and very community focused ownership! Nothing beats Sal's for Italian cuisine in Radford!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Sal's is my favorite restaurant in Radford. My fav meals are Pizza, Calzone, Eggplant Parm and Chicken Parm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Sal's is wonderful! Their pizza is excellent and their other dishes are equally as good! Their service is quick and friendly. They do their very best to please their customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keywestbullocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian with Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Portions were more than fair for the prices. The bread was homemade and very fresh. Oh, the chocolate mousse cake! There were three of us and we each had a couple beers/glasses of wine each and the bill with tip came to about $70 - not one of us had a complaint about the food or service

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing