We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient to Radford University, too convenient to the road” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Radford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Radford
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Radford
charlottesville
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Convenient to Radford University, too convenient to the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The LaQuinta is barely 1 mile from Radford University, about 2 miles off I-81 on route 177 aka Tyler Ave. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The room was plain but for $70 it was a bargain. The wifi connection was strong and reliable. My main complaint was that I asked for a quiet room and got one facing the street. In fact, from the parking lot and even from the road I could see into my room, including the TV, desk lamp, and door! With the curtains open, you could not walk anywhere in the room that was not visible to street. There was traffic noise from the road, especially at night. If you stay here, ask for a room not facing the street. The breakfast was the standard fix-it-yourself. There is a Bistro but it was not open anytime I checked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear, not the highway out front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvillediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    99
    50
    24
    12
See reviews for
189
65
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Let me start this with I entered the lobby and stood at the front desk as the lady who works at the front desk stands there at the computer for about 5 minutes before she looks up at me then continues for a minute or two then finally says can I help you, The hotel has tile floors thru out including the hallways which is nice when you are sleeping or relaxing hearing rolling bags or maid carts banging down the hallway. The rooms have no carpet but wooden floors which were cold and dirty my socks showed as I stayed there.The walls are so thin you can hear people breathing next door. The bed was ok the pillows were either worn out or too soft. It was inexpensive to stay there so again you get what you pay for applies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ynotbecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Doing the college tour thing. Arrived at 10 am, Amber & Becky did their best to get us settled. They don't have the Bistro open on Sundays, but Amber said she would be happy to make me anything I wanted. There was a snowstorm, so I was a little worried. The front desk staff & cleaning staff were wonderful. Room was comfortable, internet worked, very close to Radford and the Food Lion! Thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank lsilver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I read other reviews that said this property had thin walls but that was the worst ever. I could tell what tv channel my neighbors were watching and the volume was not loud. I could hear everything in the hall as well

Otherwise the room and common areas were immaculate and the staff very polite and efficient. Very good WiFi too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Packman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had to travel for a funeral, and made a two-night reservation here. The inn was booked because of the 8-inch snow the night before and there was a college basketball game in town one night. The girls basketball team was staying here and there was a good bit of noise in the hall and next door. However, as soon as it was 11 p.m., everything got quiet, I guess they had a curfew. The next night was a different story because whoever was next door to us, came in at 3:16 a.m., and I could hear them talking through the walls. They also woke me up a couple of more times talking loudly, and then at 7 a.m., they turned the TV on. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast had the normal cereals, bagels, muffins, fruit cups, but also biscuits and sausage gravy, if you're a fan of that. They didn't have the usual waffles that you can cook yourself, but I guess everyone doesn't need them all the time because of calories. We had an enjoyable time, but I guess it depends upon who else is staying in the hotel at the time. The walls were thin, and if one dog barked at something, our dog joined in. They didn't have the normal soda pop machines and snack machines, only a few items that you could buy from the front desk, so if you want more, you might need to bring your own. To get to the hotel from Interstate 81, you had to drive past the hotel and make a U-turn. We would probably stay here again if we needed to, but during the week might be better than on a weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were upgraded to the suite and it was amazing. Clean, quiet, welcoming staff. There was also a small lounge where we were able to grab a glass of wine after a long day of driving. We use LQ often and actually wished we could have spent an extra night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahhhhhter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this LaQuinta on a business trip. I don't need a lot of frills in a hotel room. I just want a comfortable bed, enough quiet to sleep, and a clean room. I got all of that at a reasonable price. My job takes me to this area a couple of time a year, and the Radford LaQuinta will be my hotel stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank SigMarc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
7.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Radford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Radford

Property: La Quinta Inn Radford
Address: 1450 Tyler Avenue, Radford, VA 24141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Radford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn Radford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Radford Hotel Radford
La Quinta Radford
Radford La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing