We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save Your Money - Stay Elsewhere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Radford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save Your Money - Stay Elsewhere”
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Nesselrod expecting a luxurious, relaxing getaway but instead were very disappointed. Nesselrod is under new ownership and the couple running things now has no background in hospitality. The service and food were poor and the house has seen better days.

Save your money and try another B&B in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeLoveToTravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    9
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
40
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was traveling to a ChemEd Conference and I wasn't sure what to expect in a small town like Radford, Va. I was instantly charmed by the hospitality of Mark and Rebecca. They treated me like an honored guest during my entire stay. Their 3 course breakfasts are amazing, and they gave excellent dining recommendations in the area. Time just flew and I was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wctraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Had my son's rehearsal dinner here. Groom's family rented all rooms for weekend. Boy, was this the place! Linens, mattresses, furniture, carpets all top of the line. I felt like we had reserved a luxurious country estate! Only problem was selecting ones room! All so different! Breakfasts were excellent Gardens encouraged strolling and quiet relaxing. Large flat screen and comfortable sofas in great room for game watching. Inn owner was unobtrusive, out of our way but available when needed. Great!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2009

A stay at Nesselrod on the New is a not-to-be-missed experience, and a wonderful way to just escape and relax, or to celebrate your most special occasions with family and friends. We went there for a “girls” getaway and birthday celebration, and our weekend at this very special Bed & Breakfast was everything we hoped it would be, and so much more. Climbing the winding driveway from the New River, and viewing the house, gazebo, grounds, and gardens, I got excited about our weekend plans there, but also could not help but think what a perfect location it would be for a wedding or romantic rendezvous. Once inside the inn, the many beautiful photos of past weddings and events held at Nesselrod confirmed that to be true. Our accommodations in the three lovely rooms we occupied (Lily of the Valley, Lilac, and Enchanted Garden rooms) were so beautiful and roomy (and yet at the same time very cozy and extremely comfortable), and the majestic views, fireplaces, lavish baths, and many special personal touches (such as fresh flowers, candles, bath salts and heated towels) made us feel like royalty, if just for the weekend. Our hosts, Mark & Rebecca, were so warm and hospitable, and continued that royal experience by pampering us throughout the weekend. They were a delightful couple and we were so pleased when they agreed to join us as we sat around the fireplace in the large and comfortable parlor, and enjoyed good wine, conversation, and our favorite movies on the big flat screen above the mantel. There in that magical place, we lost track of time and the stresses of our everyday lives as we talked and laughed together well into the night. It only got better when topped off the next day with a lazy sleep-in-then-lounge-in-the-soaking-tub morning, followed by a leisurely and lovely three course breakfast provided by our hosts, (including the piece de resistance… their delicious signature baked pear treat that is to die for!). For us it was the perfect place for a memorable and relaxing time together, and – for me – a very special birthday celebration that I will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlessedandHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

The Nesselrod is a wonderful bed and breakfast with lots of personality. Mark (new owner) and Rebecca were fantastic hostesses. Our every need was met. Mark was very acommodating with his breakfast selection. He offered to prepare a very healthy and delicious 3 course meal or a more southern style breakfast with biscuits and sausage gravy. My husband, being the southern guy that he is, selected the southern breakfast and it was marvelous. The homemade biscuits and locally prepared apple butter were something to rave about. Our room (the enchanted garden room) was unbelievable. It had a wrap around the room mural that depicted the scene in the surrounding gardens outside. The bathroom had a shower (beautiful ceramic tile) with multiple shower heads and a sink that looked to be from a roman castle. It was complete with a towel warmer. There was a lovely gas fireplace in the room as well. While there, we toured the other rooms and they all had impeccable cleanliness and unique furnishings. The beds are heavenly. We didn't spend any time touring the lavish gardens because the area had received about two inches of snow. The Nesselrod sits upon a hill that allows for a picturesque view of the New River. There is a huge gazebo in the gardens for outdoor weddings and the house has a "get ready" room for the bride. There is a more "manly" room for the groom.
There is complimentary wine and beer at check in.
The Nesselrod is conveniently located to Radford, Floyd, Christiansburg and Blacksburg. We frequently visit all of those areas for sports, bike riding and music. We will be going back to The Nesselrod.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTHokieNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We didn't have much time for travel and needed a break from taking care of others to take a moment for each other. It is fortunate that we live close to a destination Bed and Breakfast where the manager makes sure that everything is taken care of.
Our private time started by soaking in "mansize" tub for two in front of the fire and ended with dancing in the deuce shower.
When you want and need time away from home, this is the perfect place to land no matter what the travel time.
To top it off, nothing beaks being served a breakfast that you remember a month later and want more of.
We had a wonderful respite and look forward to our return.

Helpful?
5 Thank HostMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

This is one of the most attractive houses I've stayed in, and the staff is extremely accomodating. Breakfast is fabulous and is an excellent gourmet meal. If you ask you can just stop by for breakfast (for a fee) to check the place out.

Each room has its own unique flair and is fun just to investigate. I enjoy looking around each time. The bathtubs are amazing and the beds fabulous! They even have the best towels: Frette, no less.

It is also surrounded by some great gardens, which are currently being redesigned to reflect their original design. The gazebo in front is also an excellent place to relax. I am disappointed that they removed the old box gardens that looked so beautiful there, but it still looks great. Finally, you can walk down to the river.

My only regret is the price; although it is certainly worthy of charging the price it does, we would be able to visit more frequently if only we got a 25% discount! The area leading into the B and B is a bit- well, fast-foody, but once you get to the house, trees block the less attractive modernization.

My husband and I got married here in 2002 and have been back to visit since then. The value for what we got with our package was outstanding- we rented all the bedrooms and the gardens for a great price. You can also rent the house for other smaller events. It would be perfect for a retreat. Summer is busy for events, but the other seasons are calm.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kmr2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
406 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Radford Inn
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
242 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Oaks Victorian Inn
The Oaks Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Christiansburg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Property: Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7535 Lee Hwy, Radford, VA 24141-8505
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939 this elegant garden estate is now host to guest for overnight stays, weddings and special events. Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast has five bedrooms overlooking the New River in Radford, VA making it a great place to stay while visiting Radford University and Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, VA ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nesselrod Hotel Radford
Nesselrod b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing