We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Home-Style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River City Grill

River City Grill
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christiansburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Home-Style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is about as close as you'll get to a home-style meal in this day and age. The breakfast is their strong suit. Simple setting, decent and reliable food at moderate prices. If you're in Radford in need of a meal this is a solid choice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    56
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stopped at the River City Grill for lunch - busy, but really good service, food was a cut above average diner. Good value, tasty, fun. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eating Homestyle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My sister and brother in law told us about the River City Grill. I was pleasantly surprised that the food was priced right and the portions were just wonderful. I have 2 time once with my wife and then with my brother in law. Each time I tried different dishes. The first was a breakfast dish complete with hashbrowns and the second was a Cod Dinner plate that was prepared just right with the breading that was not heavy and the side dishes just made the late lunch fare just right. I highly recommend this "New Place" for me anyway to anyone who likes good home cooking, great staff and just being in a place much older than I.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skip_62_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must visit in RADFORD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

While visiting our college students we stopped by for lunch.We had pulled pork, shrimp PO boy, Reuben and grilled chicken salad. The hot meals were served on hot plates,a nice touch. I live at the coast and love seafood and must say the shrimp was delicious. We shared large slices of chocolate chess and apple pie.A perfect end to our lunch. Thoroughly recommend.They have a varied menu to include breakfast all day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PattieC757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Radford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This and Sal's Pizzeria are the only two restaurants we eat at in Radford. River City Grill is reasonably priced, has great service, and has recently started adding more gourmet items to an American grill style menu. On Mondays, they have bluegrass musicians, which is fun. The staff are great! Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Grill also viewed

 

Been to River City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing