We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Steaks”

River CO Restaurant & Brewery
Ranked #12 of 55 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really enjoyed the dry-aged ribeye, and my wife loved her dry-aged filet mignon. Service was very good. We paid for a sample (about 4 oz.) of every one of the beers they offered that night, to decide which one we liked best. I thought the best two were the Timber Brown Ale and the Dumpster Dog Porter, both very smooth, neither one bitter like the IPA was, and they paired well with both the excellent beef and the chocolate dessert. This is undoubtedly the best restaurant in the greater Radford area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    21
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Beer in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have been here a three or four times as we travel the east coast. It is worth a stop in Radford to try out their beer made on site. The restaurant is lovely and has a deck for eating on in the summer. Food is expensive although the chef tries hard to make it worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BarleyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good time, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good service and great food in a nice atmosphere. The steaks are especially delicious. The beers are worth the trip alone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hughballou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Place to Have a Romantic Dinner in SW VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Want great food in a beautiful setting? The River Co. in Fairlawn, Va. is the place to go. The structure of the building is beautiful, wonderful atmosphere and the food is the best you can get in South West VA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NANCYL1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, building and people, loasy food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Eaten here twice. First time ordered Ribeye, lots of grissle and fat, Ribeye is my favorite steak and I know it has more marbling than others, this was large areas of grissle and fat. My buddy ordered the salmon and you could have covered it with an extra large postage stamp.

Went again last month and ordered BBQ Ribs, they were so tough, you couldn't cut them with either the fork or the table knife. Asked to talk to the chef, he stated, he wasn't here for a couple of days and didn't know how they got cooked. Later we asked to talk to the manager, she acted like we really bothered her to come to our table and basically said that if you weren't happy, don't come back.

I will say the waitstaff both times tried real hard and were very friendly.

Basically, the management doesn't care. Eat here at your own risk. It is too expensive for the value received.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River CO Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to River CO Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing