We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family weekend at Radford University”
Review of Super 8 Radford VA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Radford VA
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    90
    54
    26
    16
See reviews for
130
27
24
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice room, very clean. Do not expect much from breakfast. Over all, we were pleasantly suprised. A seating area for breakfast would help, and a little more variety, but we were basicly looking for a decent place to sleep

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank none293890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Where to start... The location was great, we were literally down the street from the campus. Rooms were a little gloomy and damp and for a non-smoking room it smelt like an ashtray, so we were moved because evidently it wasn't cleaned yet. Upon entering our (new) room the smell of body odor reminded you of the old locker rooms in highschool... The desk said the room was used by their people when someone had to have a place to sleep, so after a hose down with Lysol and opening windows we were able to finally get some rest. Location was perfect but overall this was a nasty stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked this stay through Expedia's "unpublished rates". As soon as the name was revealed, I checked out the reviews and not happy with what I read, I called Expedia but they refused to change it.
We arrived late at night. It was quite and we felt safe. Not bad so far. The hotel lobby didn't say much or smelled which gave me hope. We were assigned a room on the first floor which was also great. The moment we entered the room, it was like getting slapped in the face with 100 smokers blowing smoke on your face. The smell was pungent. I figured just a few hours and it will be over? but it was more than that. A few hours later, I woke up literally gasping for air. Sometimes, after being in a room for a while, you get used to whatever smell is there but not this night. A combination of the smell, the toilet dripping all night, the air conditioner not cooling the room and a very not comfortable bed made this probably the worst night sleep I've had in a while.
At checkout the lady asked how was my stay (with an attitude of not really caring) and I told her about the smell and the toilet dripping and she just looked at me an told me we had a smoking room. Whose at fault here? Expedia? Me? the night attendant? don't know the answer but a simple apology would have done it for me. That never happened.
It's been 2 days since our stay and I am still "tasting" the room. All we took with us went in the laundry immediately after we got home.
All in all, for the price I guess it's alright however, make sure you request a non-smoking room if you don't want to end up with asthma attack.
The one and one good thing: it's only minutes away from Radford University. Great location.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roset_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford VA, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! When using other online booking sources you need to have them guarantee your non-smoking room type. Feel free to contact me directly to discuss and offer you a chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Radford hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at this Super 8 for one night, just to sleep. I was there not more than 8 hours and did not want to pay for a more expensive room at the Best Western.

It is a typical Super 8 but my room was very clean and that's all I really was interested in for such a short stay.

The room phone did not work but that is really my only complaint.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnghsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford VA, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our mission is to offer value, clean and friendly service. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We recently stayed here while visiting Radford University for Young Alumni Homecoming Weekend. The staff was friendly enough, but didn't tell us anything about the continental breakfast or other hotel info (wi-fi connection). The room was dusty and the bathtub did not look very clean. There was hair on the floor and the towels had hair in them, definitely not the most sanitary of places. Even though we were in a non-smoking room, we could smell smoke the entire time, not to mention the fire alarm went off early in the morning one day. The location is alright, we still had to drive down to campus/downtown. I don't think I would recommend this hotel as I will never stay here again. Just was too run-down and dirty for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford VA, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for posting your comments! Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly to discuss and offer you another opportunity to visit. We work directly with Radford University for all events and want to continue to offer prefered service to University students,parents and alumni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My daughter and I just needed a place to sleep on our way to a relative's house and my husband found this place on the internet. The price was good, and the manager was helpful and nice, but the whole hotel smelled like cigarettes. Yuck! If this bothers you, I would recommend the La Quinta down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford VA, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for posting your comments! We are pleased that you seleted Super 8 and sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We are working to improve the guest experience and will work on airing out the hallways in the smoking section.
Hope you will try us again on your next trip to Radford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
0.3 mi away
Best Western Radford Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
10.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Radford VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Radford VA

Property: Super 8 Radford VA
Address: 1600 Tyler Ave, I-81 Exit 109, Radford, VA 24141-5008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Radford VA 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Radford VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Radford
Super Eight Radford
Radford Super Eight
Radford Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing