We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Make sure you request your room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Radford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Radford to your Saves list
Super 8 Radford
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1600 Tyler Avenue, I-81 Exit 109, Radford, VA 24141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Make sure you request your room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We booked this stay through Expedia's "unpublished rates". As soon as the name was revealed, I checked out the reviews and not happy with what I read, I called Expedia but they refused to change it.
We arrived late at night. It was quite and we felt safe. Not bad so far. The hotel lobby didn't say much or smelled which gave me hope. We were assigned a room on the first floor which was also great. The moment we entered the room, it was like getting slapped in the face with 100 smokers blowing smoke on your face. The smell was pungent. I figured just a few hours and it will be over? but it was more than that. A few hours later, I woke up literally gasping for air. Sometimes, after being in a room for a while, you get used to whatever smell is there but not this night. A combination of the smell, the toilet dripping all night, the air conditioner not cooling the room and a very not comfortable bed made this probably the worst night sleep I've had in a while.
At checkout the lady asked how was my stay (with an attitude of not really caring) and I told her about the smell and the toilet dripping and she just looked at me an told me we had a smoking room. Whose at fault here? Expedia? Me? the night attendant? don't know the answer but a simple apology would have done it for me. That never happened.
It's been 2 days since our stay and I am still "tasting" the room. All we took with us went in the laundry immediately after we got home.
All in all, for the price I guess it's alright however, make sure you request a non-smoking room if you don't want to end up with asthma attack.
The one and one good thing: it's only minutes away from Radford University. Great location.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roset_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! When using other online booking sources you need to have them guarantee your non-smoking room type. Feel free to contact me directly to discuss and offer you a chance to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
103
19
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed at this Super 8 for one night, just to sleep. I was there not more than 8 hours and did not want to pay for a more expensive room at the Best Western.

It is a typical Super 8 but my room was very clean and that's all I really was interested in for such a short stay.

The room phone did not work but that is really my only complaint.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnghsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Our mission is to offer value, clean and friendly service. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We recently stayed here while visiting Radford University for Young Alumni Homecoming Weekend. The staff was friendly enough, but didn't tell us anything about the continental breakfast or other hotel info (wi-fi connection). The room was dusty and the bathtub did not look very clean. There was hair on the floor and the towels had hair in them, definitely not the most sanitary of places. Even though we were in a non-smoking room, we could smell smoke the entire time, not to mention the fire alarm went off early in the morning one day. The location is alright, we still had to drive down to campus/downtown. I don't think I would recommend this hotel as I will never stay here again. Just was too run-down and dirty for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for posting your comments! Sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. Please contact me directly to discuss and offer you another opportunity to visit. We work directly with Radford University for all events and want to continue to offer prefered service to University students,parents and alumni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My daughter and I just needed a place to sleep on our way to a relative's house and my husband found this place on the internet. The price was good, and the manager was helpful and nice, but the whole hotel smelled like cigarettes. Yuck! If this bothers you, I would recommend the La Quinta down the road.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas88, Manager at Super 8 Radford, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thanks for posting your comments! We are pleased that you seleted Super 8 and sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We are working to improve the guest experience and will work on airing out the hallways in the smoking section.
Hope you will try us again on your next trip to Radford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erving
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for 1 night, heading home on 81. A good night sleep for a great price. Room was dated, but clean and comfortable. No fridge in room. Breakfast offerings were packaged muffins,bagels, cereal, and coffee or juice. Grab and go. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goingforadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Affordable hotel in the college area. Standard room, with not alot of bells and whistles. But the room was clean and the stay was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLG243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a nice hotel located near a college town and away from I-81. The room is nice and very clean. The tv is older but they have 70+ channels. The rooms are on an inside hallway. It was quiet at night.

The breakfest was OK. There is no room in the lobby to eat, so you have to eat in your room. They do offer trays. They had english and blueberry muffins, cold cereal, box juice, coffee and tea.

Make sure you eat at BT's downtown.

There is not an elevator to the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georden7 W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 14 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Christiansburg/Blacksburg
6.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Radford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Radford

Property: Super 8 Radford
Address: 1600 Tyler Avenue, I-81 Exit 109, Radford, VA 24141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Radford 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Radford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Radford
Radford Super 8
Radford Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing