We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great red wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsborough Vineyards

Hillsborough Vineyards
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hillsborough Vineyards is a small boutique winery nestled in the scenic hillside outside of Washington, D.C.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great red wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I loved the red wine. Beautiful scenery, fantastic staff. A little too many flies but hey they like wine too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NY_Campbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    17
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Setting, Tasting Menu Limited”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice setting on a hillside overlooking rolling hills. However, the tasting menu was smaller than others and it was very quiet when we were there. Might be better to visit in warmer months when you can sit outside.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Courteous and friendly server. Liked one of the wines so wife and I bought two glasses and a wedge of cheese to savor on the patio, sitting in the afternoon sun and enjoying the beautiful view.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank glentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, great wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hillsborough is one of my favorite vineyards in Virginia. The view of the rolling hills and vines are breathtaking. The wines are unique and delicious. When possible, try to go on an off day. You get the chance to talk to the staff about the wine maker and get much more indepth information about the wine and the winery. I also appreciate that the vineyard discourages large tour buses. It cuts down on the rowdy atmosphere that certain wineries have created. This is a must visit if you find yourself in Loudoun county.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

A favorite stop when winery hopping any time of the year. I l love chilling on their patio while taking in a nice glass of wine and the beautiful VA scenery

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough Vineyards also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hillsborough Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing