We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good for breakfast”

Purcellville Family Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 43 Restaurants in Purcellville
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
No. Va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

First time eating there in about ten years. Daughter wanted breakfast and the Coney Island Diner in town is god awful. Anyway, I had the number 1 combo which was one egg, bacon, sausage, home fries and one pancake for $4.50. A real deal as they say. My daughter had the two eggs with corned beef hash and an English muffin for $6.95. Both of us had more food then we really needed. Good service and the food was served promptly. You do pay as you leave and thus they don't bring a ticket to you at the table. No complaints in the least. Sausage was patty style and bacon was crisp. We would go back again without hesitation. PS. This is mom and pop style and a throwback to the 1950-60s. Not the cleanest place I've eaten at, but the silverware was clean as was the table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tutwilerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“"Interesting"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast on a Saturday morning and since we had never been here before we weren't quite sure "how things worked"! Upon entering, there was no signage stating if you should wait to be seated, or seat yourself. We finally picked a table and sat down. A few minutes later someone came by with menus and took our drink order. The food was good, but nothing outstanding. I had a ham and cheese omelette which did not have pieces of ham, but one large piece! No one stopped back to see how our food was. After we were finished eating we waited awhile for someone to bring our check, but we watched other tables and it didn't look like anyone else received one either! We finally went up to the counter and they pulled our ticket so we could pay.

We may be back as the food was ok, but nothing special!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UOtterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
189 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A Place the 'Locals' go, which tells you the food is good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is NOT the traditional 'FAST GOOD" Chain restaurant, but a true, 'Mom & Pop" place where the Locals go and have GOOD HOME COOKED food. If you want romantic, or Sports Bar atmosphere, this is NOT the place. If you want sexy looking waitresses, this is NOT the place, but it is that place that has friendly people, GOOD FOOD, Home cooked food menus and much better prices than even the other 'local' restaurants with fancy bars, and sports atmosphere.
A lunch of soup & sandwiches, or a plate of Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes & Gravy with vegetables, etc. is a great quick lunch at a very tasty and reasonable price.
I would definitely eat there again when in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a comfortable step back in time and an escape from the chain casual dining restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a very, very good traditional breakfast - eggs, toast, bacon, corned beef hash, mild/good tasting coffee - when we stopped on our way to Abernethy and Spencer in Lincoln ( to buy environmentally safe landscaping materials and native plants - if you are a gardener, A&S is THE place ). We typically eat "healthy", but making an exception to dine here was a real treat. It also was nice to experience the low-key and authentic local town diner atmosphere, i.e. - no pretentiousness! Our server was very nice and prompt. Great value and relaxing...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Level Contributor
670 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Ecclectic decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Was out for a drive this past Sunday and came upon Purcellville. Drove into the old downtown and found the Purcellville Family Restaurant that is open until 1:00 p.m. and serves breakfast. This is an old town cafe. Decorations are "eclectic". Has booths and tables. We sat in a booth. Service was quick. Ordered a ham and cheese omelette for me and my husband had a vegetarian omelette. He complained that "the menu neglected to mention that the vegetarian omelette had cheese in it". He is lactose intollerant so he found this irrating. Personally I think it's a no brainer that you should always assume there is cheese in the omelette whether or not it is mentioned on the menu. My only complaint is we ordered a side of Virginia Ham and it was over cooked and very tough. For $4.50 I thought that was overpriced. Nice breakfast -- nothing super special. If in the area would stop again but wouldn't make a special trip to drive to Purcellville just for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kes1639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purcellville Family Restaurant also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Purcellville Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing