We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Allen's Chinese Reataurant
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Powhatan
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I like Allen's Chinese because its not like your normal Chinese take out place were its dirty and you can see a non clean cooking station, It is very upscale and nice inside but has a very reasonable cost when it comes to their food. It also has very nice bar inside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daybrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Prepared Food and Clean Restaurant”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Allen's is a good local place with food that is prepared well and the restaurant is very neat and clean with excellent service. Often Chinese restaurants can be holes in the wall with good food but poor/scary ambience and service.

Allen's is the exception where the restaurant has good service and appears very clean and well run.

Some of the dishes are not as good as we have had at other places but I never question the quality or how it is prepared. Which is a bigger deal for me than it was in my youth. :)

In Powhatan it does not get any better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KRW-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEST CHINESE IN THE RICHMOND AREA!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have been going here for years. I don't believe you could find any better food or service anywhere in this area !!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ah-So Good Chinese Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of our "go to" restaurants when we don't want to cook at home. Always good quality, good service and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCSP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Has So Many Healthy Choices”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

They will even cook your meal according to your preference, if you ask nicely. The steamed vegetables, are wonderful, and will set any sauce separately, if you like. The honey white sauced chicken/shrimp, is my husband's favorite. I find their food, always freshly prepared, and well priced, most convenient when you're traveling home, and they are not so far from where any of us live, so that you may enjoy your food still hot, and tasty by the time you get home! Friendly staff, as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mineou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen's Chinese Reataurant also viewed

 

Been to Allen's Chinese Reataurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing